April 24, 2024

Loebsack Honored with National Service Leadership Award from America’s Service Commissions

Named 2020 Friend of America’s Service Commissions

Washington, D.C. — At a recent virtual awards ceremony hosted by America’s Service Commissions (ASC), it was announced that Congressman Dave Loebsack was named a 2020 Friend of America’s Service Commissions. The awards program is held each year to recognize the leadership and accomplishments of state service commissions and their commissioners, staff, service programs, and legislative champions from across the United States and its territories.

Throughout his career, Loebsack has fought to increase funding and support of various service programs, including AmeriCorps and the Volunteer Iowa Commission. After seeing firsthand the work done by AmeriCorps volunteers in the aftermath of the Floods of 2008, Loebsack worked to get the Volunteer Generation Fund signed into law. This fund was included as an amendment to the Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act in 2009 and signed into law by President Obama. This legislation significantly boosted not only AmeriCorps and Senior Corps, but the voluntary sector’s capacity to recruit, manage and train community volunteers nationwide. Loebsack continues to push for comprehensive, locally focused, national service through the Pandemic Response and Opportunity Through National Service Act, a bill that would strengthen the nation’s response and recovery to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"I am honored to have been named a 2020 Friend of ASC and I want to thank America's Service Commissions for all they do to promote service across our nation," said Loebsack. "Since our nation's founding, the secret to our success has been its ability to come together for the common good when others are in need. I have been pleased to work with groups like ASC to get more folks interested in serving their neighbors. By giving time and energy to assisting those in need, you can have a direct impact on someone's life. Our country's history was built on service and service must be a bright part of its future, too."

“It’s truly an honor to recognize Congressman Loebsack for his longtime commitment to strengthening volunteerism and national service in America,” Kaira Esgate, CEO of America’s Service Commissions, said. “We are especially grateful for his vision in creating the Volunteer Generation Fund in 2009 that has had such a profound impact on the capacity of the nonprofit and voluntary sector, which is more critical now during COVID-19 than ever.”

2020 ASC Innovation & Leadership Award Recipients:

Friend of America’s Service Commissions: Congressman Dave Loebsack (Iowa)

Friend of America’s Service Commissions: Senator Chris Coons (Delaware)

Friend of America’s Service Commissions: Senator Roger Wicker (Mississippi)

State Service Leadership Award: State Senator Tony Vargas (Nebraska)

State Service Leadership Award: State Representative Matt Wilhelm (New Hampshire)

State Service Leadership Award: Mayor Michael Tubbs (California)

Outstanding Commissioner: Paul Calistro (Delaware)

Outstanding Commission Executive Director: Renee Bade (Idaho)

Outstanding Commission Staff: Jaclyn Kolar (Texas)

Outstanding Commission Staff: Sarah Sadowski (Montana)

Outstanding Service Program: United Way of King County (Washington)

Outstanding Service Program Staff: Gail Klearman (Iowa)

Honor Roll: Stacy Higa (Hawaii)

Honor Roll: Bill Hulterstrom (Utah)