June 19, 2024

Baxter boys place all five starters on all-conference squad

Treyton Travis, Sulzle headline Bolts with first-team selections

Treyton Travis

Baxter senior Treyton Travis led the Iowa Star Conference South Division in scoring, field goals, made 3-pointers and steals per game this season.

For his efforts, Travis was named the league’s player of the year. Four other Bolts joined Travis on the all-conference team, too.

Junior Perrin Sulzle and Travis both were first-team selections, while junior Cainan Travis and sophomore Eli Dee were second-team picks. Senior Ben Richardson was the honorable mention choice.

Perrin Sulzle

Treyton Travis and Sulzle were part of a six-player first team and Cainan Travis and Dee were on a six-player second team.

All-conference recognition is based on statistics inside conference play only. The Bolts won the conference title for a third straight season.

Treyton Travis earned Iowa Star Conference South Player of the Year after leading the division in scoring at 25 points per game. He also ranked ninth in rebounds at 6.0 per contest and averaged a division-best 4.2 steals per game.

His 3.5 assists per tilt ranked tied for seventh and his 120 field goals and 28 made 3s led the division.

Eli Dee

Treyton Travis also shot 48.6 percent from the floor and ranked fifth in the division with 32 made free throws.

Sulzle was a first-team selection after averaging 15.2 points and 10.8 rebounds per game, which ranked seventh and second in the division, respectively. He also ranked 10th in assists at 3.0 per game, led the division in blocks at 2.8 per game and averaged 1.3 steals per contest.

Sulzle’s 67 percent shooting from the floor led the South Division and he ranked second in 3-point percentage at 46.7 and fourth in free-throw percentage at 72.4. His 21 made free throws ranked tied for ninth.

Cainan Travis averaged 9.6 points, 5.1 rebounds, 1.7 assists and 1.7 steals per game. His 56 percent shooting from the floor ranked fifth in the division.

Cainan Travis

Dee ranked fifth in the division in scoring at 15.7 per game. He averaged 2.8 rebounds and 1.7 assists per game in his six conference games.

His 42.6 percent shooting from 3 ranked third and his 20 made 3s tied for sixth.

Richardson averaged 10.8 points, 3.5 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game and ranked fourth in the division at 2.8 steals per game.

Richardson ranked third in the division with 37 made free throws and his 67.3 percent shooting from the foul line ranked ninth.

Ben Richardson

Iowa Star Conference

South Division

Final Standings

Team        Conference    Overall

Baxter 12-0 16-5

Colo-NESCO 7-5 11-11

North Tama 6-5 8-12

GMG 6-6  11-12

Collins-Maxwell 6-6 8-14

BCLUW  4-7  5-17

Meskwaki Settlement School 0-12  1-18

Player of the Year

Treyton Travis, sr., Baxter

Coach of the Year

Ryan Ridout, North Tama


First Team

Travis, sr., Baxter; Perrin Sulzle, jr., Baxter; Lucas Frohwein, sr., Colo-NESCO; Josh Dostal, jr., North Tama; Jabari Woodbury, sr., GMG; Cael Keller, sr., BCLUW.

Second Team

Cainan Travis, jr., Baxter; Eli Dee, so., Baxter; Gannon Short, jr., Colo-NESCO; Jared Dvorak, sr., North Tama; Josef Dvorak, jr., Collins-Maxwell; Rider Kupka, so., GMG.

Honorable Mention

Ben Richardson, sr., Baxter; Hayden Schleisman, sr., BCLUW; Ian Beattie, jr., Collins-Maxwell; Drew Banks, sr., Colo-NESCO; Kaleb Grill, sr., GMG;  Kingston Davenport, jr., Meskwaki Settlement; Kayler Morris, so., North Tama.