December 04, 2023

Travis brothers lead 10 Bolts on all-district football squad

Baxter football team earns postseason recognition

Treyton Travis

Baxter senior Treyton Travis had 33 more catches than anyone else in Class 8-man District 9 play this season. He also led the district in all-purpose yards, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns, but it was not enough to net him the district’s offensive player of the year.

He was one of two Bolts to earn first-team all-district honors though, joining his younger brother Cainan Travis.

Ten Baxter football players were recognized in all as the all-district teams were released recently.

Cainan Travis

All-district honors are based on statistics inside district play only.

The Bolts’ second-team selections were senior Cody Samson, juniors Perrin Sulzle, Cade Robinson and Carter Smith and sophomores Cael Wishman and Stadan Vansice. Juniors Jack Anderson and Grant Anderegg were honorable mention selections.

Treyton Travis was a first-team wide receiver, and he led the district with 64 catches, 815 receiving yards, 1,041 all-purpose yards and 13 receiving touchdowns.

Perrin Sulzle

Cainan Travis, a junior, was a first-team defensive back after ranking fifth in the district with 50.5 tackles. He also ranked tied for 10th with 8.5 tackles for loss.

Sulzle was the second-team quarterback. He led the district with 1,593 passing yards and 21 passing TDs. He also ranked second in total touchdowns with 23 and added 238 rushing yards and two rushing scores.

Cade Robinson

Robinson made the second team as a wide receiver. He rushed for 342 yards and three scores and ranked third in the district with 30 catches. His 232 receiving yards and 668 all-purpose yards both ranked eighth. Robinson averaged 7.1 yards per carry.

Smith and Anderegg were part of the Bolts’ offensive line that helped the squad rank second in total yards with 2,414. The team’s 29 touchdowns also ranked third. Baxter gained 794 rushing yards and averaged 4.9 yards per carry.

Carter Smith

Samson was a second-team linebacker. He ranked third in the district with 56.5 tackles, led the district with four fumble recoveries and tallied 5.5 tackles for loss.

Wishman earned second-team honors as a defensive lineman. He led the district with six sacks and 16.5 tackles for loss. He added 41.5 tackles and tied for second in the district with two fumble recoveries.

Grant Anderegg

Vansice was a second-team defensive back after collecting 35 tackles, three tackles for loss and one interception. His two fumble recoveries tied for second in the district.

Anderson had 32.5 tackles, one sack and 4.5 tackles for loss.

Cody Samson

Class 8-man District 9

Final Standings

Team District Overall

Audubon 6-0 8-2

Glidden-Ralston 5-1 6-3

Baxter 3-3 5-4

Coon Rapids-Bayard 3-3 3-5

Colo-NESCO 2-4 6-4

Fort Dodge St. Edmond 2-4 4-4

Collins-Maxwell 0-6 3-6

Cael Wishman

Offensive Player of the Year

JT Laufersweiler, sr., FD St. Edmond

Defensive Player of the Year

Trenton Beard, sr., Colo-NESCO

Lineman of the Year

Charles Schon, sr., Glidden-Ralston

Stadan Vansice

First Team


Quarterback: JT Laufersweiler, sr., St. Edmond

Running back: Evan Alt, sr., Audubon; Emmett Snyder, sr., Glidden-Ralston.

Wide receiver/Tight end: Treyton Travis, sr., Baxter; Grant Galles, so., St. Edmond.

Offensive line: Charles Schon, sr., Glidden-Ralston; Tyler Mohr, jr., CR-B; Logan Schmidt, sr., Audubon.

Utility: Aaron Olsen, jr., Audubon.

Kicker: Koleman Hanson, so., St. Edmond.


Defensive line: Adam Walker, jr., St. Emond; Mark Lensch, sr., Glidden-Ralston; Lucas Frohwein, sr., Colo-NESCO.

Linebacker: Trenton Beard, sr., Colo-NESCO; Josef Dvorak, jr., Collins-Maxwell; Austin Christensen, so., Audubon.

Defensive back: Cainan Travis, jr., Baxter; Cal Heydon, so., CR-B.

Utility: Wyatt Oswald, jr., CR-B.

Punter: Edward Miller, sr., Audubon.

Returner: Breckin Clatt, jr., Colo-NESCO.

Second Team


Quarterback: Perrin Sulzle, jr., Baxter.

Running back: Sam Myer, jr., St. Edmond; Mark Bower, jr., Colo-NESCO.

Wide receiver/Tight end: Cade Robinson, jr., Baxter; Lane Oswalt, jr., Collins-Maxwell.

Offensive line: Carter Smith, jr., Baxter; Colton Hansen, jr., Audubon; Wade Hunter, sr., Glidden-Ralston.

Utility: Colby Wallace, jr., Glidden-Ralston.

Kicker: Landon Gjerde, so., Colo-NESCO.


Defensive line: Cael Wishman, so., Baxter; Waylon Hein, jr., Glidden-Ralston; Ely Jorgensen, jr., Audubon.

Linebacker: Cody Samson, sr., Baxter; Kolby Culbertson, sr., CR-B; Lucas Daggett, jr., Colo-NESCO.

Defensive back: Stadan Vansice, so., Baxter; Jakob Koopman, so., St. Edmond.

Utility: Alex Daniel, so., Glidden-Ralston.

Punter: Trenton Beard, sr., Colo-NESCO.

Returner: Cooper Wierson, so., Collins-Maxwell.

Honorable Mention

Jack Anderson, jr., Baxter; Grant Anderegg, jr., Baxter; Zeke Konkler, sr., Audubon; Gabe Jensen, jr., Audubon; Austin Boege, so., Collins-Maxwell; Dalton Martin, so., Collins-Maxwell; Ben Ryan, sr., Colo-NESCO; Preston Voelker, so., Colo-NESCO; Mason Betts, sr., CR-B; Caden Oswald, fr., CR-B; Lucas Christian, jr., Glidden-Ralston; Daniel Thooft, jr., Glidden-Ralston; Quintin Jaeschke, jr., St. Edmond; Kinnick Henning, so., St. Edmond.