May 21, 2024

Five Hawks, two Tigerhawks named to all-SICL boys basketball team

Lynnville-Sully’s Maston, Van Dyke earn first-team recognition

A balanced offensive attack helped the Lynnville-Sully boys’ basketball team win the South Iowa Cedar League title this past winter.

The Hawks finished 15-1 in league play and their average margin of victory was 30 points.

For their efforts, five Hawks and head coach Nick Harthoorn were recognized on the all-conference squad recently.

Senior Conner Maston and junior Klayton Van Dyke both earned first-team honors, while junior Corder Noun Harder was a second-team selection. Senior Preston Rodibaugh and junior Mitchell Miller were the honorable mention picks.

Harthoorn was named SICL Coach of the Year.

Colfax-Mingo senior Carter Gibson and junior Cael Bracewell were the honorable mention choices for the Tigerhawks.

C-M senior Joe Earles was one of two players in the league to earn the Golden Award, which goes to athletes who would have been considered for all-conference had it not been for an injury.

Earles missed the entire season with an injury sustained before basketball season.

All-conference honors are based on statistics inside conference play only.

Van Dyke led the Hawks with an 11.8 points per-game average. His 7.6 rebounds per game ranked first on the team and eighth in the SICL. He also averaged 1.5 blocks per game and shot 66.7 percent from the floor, which ranked fourth and tied for second in the SICL, respectively.

Van Dyke also ranked tied for second on the team with a 1.4 steals per-game average. He made 82 shots from the floor and connected on 24 free throws.

Maston was fourth on the team in scoring at 9.8 points per game and he averaged 5.4 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game, which both ranked second on the team. He ranked tied for second in steals at 1.4 per contest.

Maston shot 38.2 percent from the floor and buried 31.4 percent from 3-point range. He ranked first in the SICL in free throw percentage at 93.3 and his 27 made treys ranked ninth in the conference. He made 14 free throws.

Noun Harder averaged 7.1 points and 3.0 rebounds per game. He led the conference in assists at 6.0 per contest and ranked seventh in the conference in steals at 2.5 per tilt.

Noun Harder shot 37.5 percent from the floor and 50 percent from the foul line. He buried 15 free throws.

Rodibaugh averaged 10.9 points, 3.9 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.0 steals per contest. He ranked third on the team in scoring and fourth in both assists and rebounds.

He shot 47.4 percent from the floor and his 37.3 percent shooting from 3 ranked fourth in the SICL. His 25 made triples were tied for 10th in the league and he shot 66.7 percent from the foul line.

Miller ranked second on the team in scoring at 11 points per game and ranked third in rebounds at 4.5 per contest. He also averaged 1.8 assists and 1.1 steals per tilt.

Miller shot 47 percent from the floor, made 29.6 percent from 3 and ranked fifth in the SICL and second on the team in free throw percentage at 77.8. He made 16 treys and buried 21 free throws.

Bracewell ranked second among Tigerhawks in scoring at 8.2 points per game, third in rebounds at 3.4 per contest and led the squad in both assists and steals at 2.1 each per tilt.

Bracewell shot 34.1 percent from the floor, 29 percent from 3 and ranked fourth in the SICL in free throw percentage at 78.6. His 25 made 3s ranked tied for 10th in the SICL and he connected on 22 free throws.

Gibson ranked first on the squad and third in the SICL in rebounds at 7.0 per game. He also averaged 4.1 points and 1.0 steals per contest and shot 33.8 percent from the floor.

South Iowa Cedar League

Final Standings

West Division

Team     Conference    Overall

Lynnville-Sully 15-1  22-3

North Mahaska 14-2  19-5

Montezuma 12-4   17-7

HLV  7-9 12-12

BGM 4-12  7-17

Colfax-Mingo 1-15  1-22

East Division

Team Conference Overall

Keota 14-2  21-4

Sigourney 9-7 13-10

Belle Plaine 8-8  14-10

Iowa Valley 8-8   10-12

English Valleys 3-13  5-18

Tri-County  1-15  3-18

Coach of the Year

Nick Harthoorn, Lynnville-Sully

Golden Awards

Joe Earles, sr., Colfax-Mingo

Eli Molyneux, sr., Tri-County


First Team

Conner Maston, sr., Lynnville-Sully

Klayton Van Dyke, jr., Lynnville-Sully

Nash Smith, sr., North Mahaska

Lane Harmon, sr., North Mahaska

Masin Shearer, sr., Montezuma

Caleb Haack, so., Iowa Valley

Landon Hall, sr., HLV

Sawyer Stout, jr., Sigourney

Second Team

Corder Noun Harder, jr., Lynnville-Sully

Braden Steel, sr., North Mahaska

Gavin Strong, sr., Montezuma

Brady Boulton, fr., Montezuma

Cole Kindred, jr., Keota

Issac Bruns, so., Sigourney

Sam DeMeulenaere, so., Belle Plaine

Evan Kearney, sr., Iowa Valley

Jake Maurer, sr., BGM

Honorable Mention

Carter Gibson, sr., Colfax-Mingo; Cael Bracewell, jr., Colfax-Mingo; Preston Rodibaugh, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Mitchell Miller, jr., Lynnville-Sully; Karson Weber, sr., Sigourney; Cole Clarahan, sr., Sigourney; Nolan Andersen, jr., North Mahaska; Ethan Huffman, sr., North Mahaska; Evan Vittetoe, jr., Keota; Billie Kindred, so., Keota; Garrett Watts, jr., Montezuma; Owen Cook, sr., Montezuma; Wyatt Kuch, jr., Belle Plaine; Jax Stamp, jr., Belle Plaine; Beau Long, sr., Iowa Valley; Hunter Gorsch, sr., Iowa Valley; Ethan Licht, jr., HLV; Peyton Roth, so., HLV; Dom Coleman, jr., BGM; Beau Burns, fr., BGM; Keshaun Lundy, sr., English Valleys; Myles Grove, jr., English Valleys; Cayle Kitzman, sr., Tri-County; Corbyn Thomas, sr., Tri-County.