November 27, 2022

Sixteen Hawks earn all-district football honors

Noun Harder, Squires headline Class A District 6 squad

Lynnville-Sully’s historic football season included a second straight district championship. And the closest game the Hawks had in Class A District 6 play was the 22-point road win over Madrid.

For their efforts, the Hawks placed 15 players on the all-district team. Senior Conner Maston was a first-team selection at two different positions. Head coach Mike Parkinson also was voted the district’s coach of the year.

Headlining the all-district squad were junior Corder Noun Harder and senior Kyle Squires. Noun Harder was the district’s Offensive MVP and Squires was named Defensive MVP.

The Hawks’ other first-team selections were Maston, seniors Lane Fisk, Mathias Torres, Caleb Rea, Tyson Jansen and juniors Keegan DeWitt and Lucas Sieck.

The second-team selections included seniors Bryce Richards and Jacob Fogle, sophomore Lannon Montgomery and freshman Dawson James. Junior C.J. Nikkel and senior Jager Huyser were the honorable mention choices.

All-district selections are based on statistics inside district play only.

Noun Harder led the district with 914 rushing yards, 16 rushing touchdowns and a 12.2 yards per carry average.

His 1,315 all-purpose yards and 20 total touchdowns also led the district and he added four catches for 85 yards and a TD.

Squires led the district with 45 tackles and his seven tackles for loss rank tied for fourth.

Torres was a first-team defensive lineman, Fisk earned first-team honors as a linebacker and Rea was chosen as first-team defensive back.

Torres ranked third in the district with eight tackles for loss and he tied for fifth with two sacks. He also had 27 tackles.

Fisk was second to Squires with 44 tackles and he finished with one sack, five tackles for loss and one fumble recovery.

Rea registered 17 tackles and two tackles for loss.

Jansen, DeWitt and Fogle all played significant roles up front for the Hawks. Jansen was a first-team offensive lineman, DeWitt earned first-team honors as a tight end/fullback and Fogle was a second-team offensive lineman.

The Hawks ranked first in the district with 38 offensive TDs and first with an 8.3 yards per carry average. The team’s 2,028 total yards ranked second and the 1,439 rushing yards were third.

Maston made the first team as a wide receiver and a punter. He tied for first with seven receiving TDs and ranked third with 389 receiving yards. His 14 catches ranked sixth and his 27.8 yards per catch average was tops in the district, but he did not have enough catches to qualify.

As a punter, Maston ranked fourth in yards per punt at 37.2, but was first among those who punted at least 10 times.

Sieck made the first team as a kicker. His 26-yard field goal was the only field goal kicked during district play and his six touchbacks and 24 made extra points both ranked first, too.

Montgomery was a second-team selection at offensive utility. His 571 passing yards ranked third and his 10 touchdown passes were second. He only threw one pick and tallied two rushing TDs.

Montgomery had a QB rating of 184.5 and his completion percentage was 61.5. Both led the district among players who threw at least 39 passes.

James was a second-team pick at defensive line and Richards earned his second-team selection as a linebacker.

James finished with 19.5 tackles, recovered one fumble and his nine tackles for loss ranked second in the district.

Richards tied for third in the league with three sacks and registered 10 tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss, one fumble recovery and one interception.

Huyser’s honorable mention selection included 10.5 tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks, which ranked second in the district.

Nikkel ranked ninth in the district with 318 rushing yards despite being Noun Harder’s backup at running back. He also scored three rushing TDs, averaged 12.7 yards per carry and grabbed a receiving TD. Defensively, he finished with 16 tackles, two sacks and 6.5 tackles for loss, which ranked sixth in the district.

Class A District 6

Final Standings

Team District Overall

Lynnville-Sully 6-0 11-1

Madrid 5-1 6-3

Ogden 4-2 6-3

Belle Plaine 3-3 4-5

North Mahaska 2-4 2-6

Colfax-Mingo 1-5 2-7

Wayne 0-6 0-8

Offensive MVP

Corder Noun Harder, jr., Lynnville-Sully

Defensive MVP

Kyle Squires, sr., Lynnville-Sully

Coach of the Year

Mike Parkinson, Lynnville-Sully

Golden Award

Jax Stamp, jr., Belle Plaine; Jack Schwenn, sr., Belle Plaine; Sam Dawson, jr., Colfax-Mingo; Paul DeJong, sr., North Mahaska.


First Team Offense

Quarterback: Preston Wicker, so., Madrid.

Running Back: Ty Alcott, so., Belle Plaine; Quintin Hoskins, jr., Ogden.

Tight End/Fullback: Keegan DeWitt, jr., Lynnville-Sully.

Receiver: Curtis Horras, jr., Colfax-Mingo; Conner Maston, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Jackson Christensen, sr., Ogden.

Offensive Line: Tyson Jansen, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Bubby Miller, sr., Madrid; Chase Wickwire, sr., Belle Plaine; Nick Bolton, jr., Ogden; Cutler Buban, so., Wayne.

Utility: Cael Bracewell, jr., Colfax-Mingo.

Kicker: Lucas Sieck, jr., Lynnville-Sully.

First Team Defense

Defensive Line: Mathias Torres, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Tristan Mallory, sr., Madrid; Keaton Westerberg, jr., Ogden; Cayden Dudley, fr., Ogden.

Linebacker: Lane Fisk, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Jeremy Reinecke, jr., Belle Plaine; Jake Leonard, jr., Madrid; Strait Jacobsen, sr., Wayne.

Defensive Back: Caleb Rea, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Dylan Perdue, sr., Ogden; Caydon Tucker, sr., Madrid; Conner Timm, sr., Belle Plaine.

Utility: Cael Pearson, sr., Ogden.

Punter: Conner Maston, sr., Lynnville-Sully.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Colby Rohe, jr., Ogden.

Running Back: Paul DeJong, sr., North Mahaska; Nash Ramirez, sr., North Mahaska.

Tight End/Fullback: Shane Hostetter, so., Colfax-Mingo.

Receiver: Conner Wood, jr., Colfax-Mingo; PJ Stout, sr., North Mahaska; Jack Kockler, sr., Madrid.

Offensive Line: Jacob Fogle, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Wyatt Van Weelden, sr., North Mahaska; Caleb Wildt, jr., Ogden; Charlie Maxwell, jr., Madrid; Trace Goumaat, sr., North Mahaska.

Utility: Lannon Montgomery, so., Lynnville-Sully.

Kicker: Matthew Samuelson, jr., Ogden.

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line: Dawson James, fr., Lynnville-Sully; Xabian Hawkins, sr., Wayne; Wade Sankot, fr., Belle Plaine; Hunter Steward, so., Madrid.

Linebacker: Bryce Richards, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Brock Nichol, so., Colfax-Mingo; Ashton Meland, sr., North Mahaska; Cole Burdette, jr., Ogden.

Defensive Back: Trey Hockemeier, jr., Colfax-Mingo; Boudyn White, jr., Ogden; Lucas Nunikhoven, so., North Mahaska; Chase Davis, jr., Madrid.

Utility: Sam DeMeulenaere, so., Belle Plaine.

Punter: Keaton Westberg, jr., Ogden.

Honorable Mention

Lynnville-Sully: C.J. Nikkel, jr.; Jager Huyser, sr. Colfax-Mingo: Joe Earles, jr.; Donovan Baucom, jr.; Belle Plaine: Brock Dodd, sr.; Brooks DeMeulenaere, sr. Ogden: Nathan Comer, jr.; Owen Schriever, jr. Madrid: Kadyn Severson, sr.; Tyler Fuller, jr. North Mahaska: Joel DeJong, so.; Trenton Hol, so. Wayne: Cole Gibson, so.; Karter Murphy, fr.