April 24, 2024

Ten Mustangs grab all-district football honors

Nickelson, Fenton earn second straight postseason recognition

Sophomore Adrien Robbins made quite the impression in his first season as the primary ball carrier for PCM’s football team.

Robbins ranked in the top five in the three most important statistical categories and his efforts landed him on the all-district team for Class 2A District 7.

Joining Robbins on the squad were seniors August Stock, Donovan Nickelson and Gavin Fenton, junior Mark Bussan and sophomores Finn Wilson and Kaden Clark.

Seniors Joel Greiner and William Vanderpool and junior Gabe Hobbs were the honorable mention selections.

Fenton and Nickelson are all-district players for the second straight season.

All-district selections are based on statistics inside district play only.

Nickelson earned his honor as a defensive lineman. He was third in the district with seven tackles for loss and finished with 24.5 tackles and a fumble recovery.

Fenton made the squad as a defensive back. He finished with 12.5 tackles, one interception and one fumble recovery.

Robbins, an all-district running back, ranked second in the district with 676 rushing yards and his 6.7 yards per carry ranked third. He scored five rushing touchdowns, which ranked fifth.

Stock earned his honor as a wide receiver/tight end. He ranked 10th in the district with 199 rushing yards and tied for third with six rushing TDs. He also was fourth in both catches (10) and receiving yards (155) and had one receiving TD.

Bussan, an all-district offensive lineman, helped the Mustangs rush for 1,222 yards, which ranked second in the district. PCM also ranked second in yards per carry at 5.7 and rushing TDs with 20 and finished third with 1,539 total yards.

Wilson was an all-district linebacker after leading the Mustangs and ranking seventh in the district with 32.5 tackles.

Clark played on both PCM lines but earned his all-district honor as a defensive utility player. He finished with six tackles.

Greiner finished with 19 tackles and three tackles for loss. Vanderpool added 13 tackles and four tackles for loss and he also had 25 rushing yards and two TDs.

Hobbs finished with seven tackles on defense and hauled in five passes for 63 yards and a TD on offense.

Class 2A District 7

Final Standings

Team          District    Overall

West Marshall 5-0    9-1

PCM 4-1   5-4

Roland-Story 3-2   4-5

Iowa Falls-Alden 2-3   2-7

Chariton 1-4  3-6

Albia 0-5  2-6

Coach of the Year

Cody Hackett, West Marshall

Offensive MVP

Peyton Hart, sr., West Marshall

Lineman MVP

Sam Shaper, sr., West Marshall

Defensive MVP

Caden Vellinga, sr., West Marshall

Austin Pfantz, sr., West Marshall



Quarterback — Hart, sr., West Marshall; Hesston Johnson, jr., Roland-Story

Running Back — Adrien Robbins, so., PCM; Jonovan Wilkinson, jr., Roland-Story; Ben Gonzalez, so., West Marshall.

Wide Receiver/Tight End — August Stock, sr., PCM; Andrew Bicknese, sr., Iowa Falls-Alden; Dillon Lettow, sr., Roland-Story; Carter Flattebo, sr., Roland-Story; Graham Nason, sr., West Marshall.

Offensive Line — Mark Bussan, jr., PCM; Schaper, sr., West Marshall; Paul Ballard, jr., Albia; Aiden Mundt, sr., Chariton; Grant Nielsen, sr., Iowa Falls-Alden; Aaron Peyton, jr., Roland-Story.

Kicker — Andrew Tollefson, jr., West Marshall.

Utility — Kacen Boyer, sr., Iowa Falls-Alden; Gage Oddo, sr., Albia.

Return Specialist — Jaden Damiano, jr., Iowa Falls-Alden.


Defensive Line — Donovan Nickelson, sr., PCM; Kaden Steffen, sr., Iowa Falls-Alden; Luke Patton, sr., Roland-Story; Austin Pfantz, sr., West Marshall; Zach Chaplin, sr., West Marshall.

Linebacker — Finn Wilson, so., PCM; Justin Keller, sr., Albia; Ryder McGee, sr., Chariton; Vellinga, sr., West Marshall; Dillon McMorran, jr., West Marshall; Charlie Watts, so., Roland-Story.

Defensive Back — Gavin Fenton, sr., PCM; Kale Lande, sr., Roland-Story; Boaz Clark, jr., Roland-Story; TJ Schuler, sr., West Marshall; Jace Eich, so., West Marshall.

Punter — Conner Fisher, jr., Albia.

Utility — Kaden Clark, so., PCM; Elijah Meester, sr., West Marshall.

Honorable Mention

William Vanderpool, sr., PCM; Joel Greiner, sr., PCM; Gabe Hobbs, jr., PCM.