June 27, 2022

Cazett, Rausch land on all-conference first team

Six Cardinals earn spot on all-LHC girls soccer squad

Junior Audrey Rausch was one of the most prolific goal scorers in the Little Hawkeye Conference this past season. Senior Brynn Cazett ranked in the top 10 in both goals and assists.

Both Cardinals were named to the Little Hawkeye Conference girls soccer first team recently. Six Newton players made the all-LHC squad in all.

Seniors Morgan Peterson and Madi Altemeier were second-team selections and seniors Rori Nehring and Brooklyn Cupples were honorable mention picks.

The Cardinals were 11-6 overall and 3-4 in the LHC. All-conference selections are based on statistics inside the conference only.

Cazett ranked tied for 10th in the LHC with four goals and was tied for sixth with four assists. Her 12 points ranked tied for 11th.

Rausch ranked tied for third in the LHC with eight goals and she had two assists. The 18 points she finished with ranked sixth in the league.

Cazett was a first-team midfielder, while Rausch earned her first-team nod as a forward.

Peterson was a second-team midfielder and Altemeier was the Cardinals best defender, the position she earned second team recognition at.

Peterson, who also saw action at defender, scored one goal and had one assist this season. She registered three points in conference play.

Altemeier scored one goal but was responsible for shutting down the other team’s attack. She helped Nehring and a young group of defenders record two conference shutouts this spring.

Nehring, the team’s goalie, made 82 saves in conference play, which ranked third in the LHC. Her 83.7 save percentage was sixth.

Cupples made a return to the Cardinals’ lineup after suffering a season-ending injury last year. She spent most of her playing time on the pitch as a forward.

Little Hawkeye Conference

Final Standings

Team Conference Overall

DCG 7-0 22-0

Norwalk 6-1 17-4

Pella 5-2 10-7

Newton 3-4 11-6

Pella Christian 3-4 8-8

Grinnell 2-5 4-10

Indianola 2-5 5-13

Oskaloosa 0-7 2-14


First Team Forwards: Audrey Rausch, jr., Newton; Abby Warner, so., Pella; Jocelyn Bice, sr., Norwalk; Avery Korsching, sr., DCG.

First Team Midfielders: Brynn Cazett, sr., Newton; Reagan Teut, sr., Norwalk; Ivey Schmidt, sr., Grinnell; Joslyn Terpstra, jr., Pella Christian; Abby Jensen, sr., Indianola; Kylie Knief, so., DCG.

First Team Defenders: Reagan Holtorf, sr., Norwalk; Hannah Kehoe, sr., Norwalk; Mia Warner, jr., Pella; Hanna Renz, so., DCG.

First Team Goalie: Haley VanHouweling, jr., Pella.

Second Team Forwards: Annaliese Miller, sr., Indianola; Remy Sivertsen, so., Indianola; Ella Forsyth, so., DCG; Addison Burch, so., Norwalk; Claire Smock, fr., Pella.

Second Team Midfielders: Morgan Peterson, sr., Newton; Anneka Stoltfus, jr., Pella; Olivia Cyr, so., DCG; Anna Larson, so., Norwalk; Sydney Miller, sr., Grinnell; Mia Lerseth, jr., Indianola.

Second Team Defenders: Madi Altemeier, sr., Newton; Aubrey Eddington, so., Indianola; Jaclyn Holmes, so., Pella Christian; Elana Bartak, jr., DCG; Reese Trebilcock, so., Norwalk.

Second Team Goalie: Maya Fritz, jr., DCG.

Honorable Mention

Rori Nehring, sr., Newton; Brooklyn Cupples, sr., Newton; Lydia Zylstra, sr., Pella Christian; Sarah Gritters, sr., Pella Christian; Audrey Cheney, jr., Oskaloosa; Kyrsten DeWees, sr., Oskaloosa; Hope Overton, jr., Indianola; Hailey Burk, sr., Indianola; Lauren Pease, sr., Grinnell; Bridget Blanchard, sr., Grinnell; Kaylee Van Polen, jr., Pella; Anna Wander Waal, sr., Pella; Serenity Madonia, sr., Norwalk; Hailey Schreiber, sr., Norwalk; Alexia Henrichs, sr., DCG; Emma Smith, sr., DCG.