December 09, 2021

Fifteen Cardinals claim all-district football recognition

Five Newton gridders earn top spots on 4A District 4 team

Sophomore Cody Klein and senior Zay Arguello were first and second, respectively, in Class 4A District 4 in rushing yards.

Senior Braydon Chance and junior Brendon West finished first and third in tackles.

All four players led Newton on the all-district football squad. The teams were released recently after district champion Cedar Rapids Xavier lost in the 4A state championship game.

Klein, Arguello, Chance, West and senior Adam Mattes all were part of the all-district squad.

Nine Cardinals earned honorable mention recognition. That group included seniors Reese Hammons, Garrett Beerends, Cole Conner, Evan Grimm, Keith Moko and Austin Brady, junior Alex Thomason and sophomores Nate Lampe and Blake Schilling.

Senior Tyson Elliott earned a Golden Apple honor as a player who likely would have made the all-district team had it not been for an injury.

All-district honors are based on statistics inside district play only.

Arguello ranked second in the district with 657 passing yards and 529 rushing yards as Newton’s starting quarterback. He was first in the league with eight rushing touchdowns and second with seven passing TDs.

Arguello also ranked third with 535 all-purpose yards. His 5.7 yards per carry ranked sixth in the district and he was 43-of-101 through the air.

Klein led the district with 555 rushing yards and 881 all-purpose yards as the team’s running back. His four rushing TDs ranked tied for sixth and his 5.6 yards per carry was seventh.

As a receiver, Klein hauled in 11 passes for 86 yards and a TD.

Chance and West were both linebackers for the Cardinals.

Chance led the district with 40 tackles and ranked tied for eighth with four tackles for loss. He also had one sack.

West’s 38 tackles ranked third in the district and he added one sack, one interception and 2 1/2 tackles for loss.

Mattes played in the Cardinals’ defensive backfield and finished with 17 tackles, a fumble recovery and an interception.

Beerends, Conner, Schilling and Grimm all were part of Newton’s defensive line.

Beerends finished with 15 tackles and ranked tied for eighth with four tackles for loss. Schilling had 17 1/2 tackles, two tackles for loss and one fumble recovery.

Conner chipped in 9 1/2 tackles and three tackles for loss and Grimm registered eight tackles, one sack and 1 1/2 tackles for loss.

Hammons was the Cardinals’ other linebacker. He tied for the district lead with three interceptions and a pair of pick 6s. He also added 16 tackles, one sack and 2 1/2 tackles for loss.

Moko, Thomason and Lampe were part of the Cardinals’ defensive backfield.

Moko finished with 11 1/2 tackles and one interception. He also had 12 catches for 186 yards and three TDs as a receiver. The 12 catches tied for sixth in the district, while the 186 yards ranked fourth and the three TDs tied for second.

Lampe had 10 tackles and an interception and Thomason finished with nine tackles and one tackle for loss.

Brady and Elliott played on the Cardinals’ offensive line and helped Newton rank second in the district with 1,133 rushing yards. The Cardinals’ had a 5.4 yards per carry average, which also ranked second.

Brady and Elliott helped Newton lead the district with 20 touchdowns and 1,828 total yards.

Class 4A District 4

Final Standings

Team        District   Overall

Cedar Rapids Xavier 5-0 11-2

Clear Creek-Amana 3-2 6-4

Cedar Rapids Washington 3-2 5-5

Pella  3-2 4-5

Newton 1-4 5-4

Oskaloosa 0-5 4-5

Offensive MVPs

Alex Neal, sr., Xavier

Ben Swails, sr., CC-A

Defensive MVP

Chase Mahoney, jr., Washington

Special Teams MVP

Trysten Vasquez, sr., Xavier

Coach of the Year

Duane Schulte, Xavier


Zay Arguello, sr., Newton

Cody Klein, so., Newton

Adam Mattes, sr., Newton

Braydon Chance, sr., Newton

Brendon West, jr., Newton

Aidan McDermott, jr., Xavier

Christian Stanek, sr., Xavier

Will Hiserote, sr., Xavier

Nate Westhoff , sr., Xavier

Josef Lemker, jr., Xavier

Thomas Sundell, jr., Xavier

Andy Kram, sr., Xavier

Grant Reasner, sr., Xavier

Thomas Reinwart, sr., Xavier

Watts McBride, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Noah Allen, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Romen Young, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

James DeGraft-Moffat, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Tate Sykora-Matthess, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Riley Martin, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Jaden Harris, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Harrison Rosenberg, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Gage Freeman, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Tommy Morlan, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Bryce Mougin, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Brody Clubb, fr., Clear Creek-Amana

Grant Kruse, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Caleb Allan, jr., Clear Creek-Amana

Nolan Clayberg, sr., Pella

Preston Rowe, sr., Pella

Aidan Pollock, sr., Pella

CJ Smith, sr., Pella

Konner Vander Werf, sr., Pella

Trey Van Hauen, jr., Pella

Tate Weesner, jr., Pella

Colin Snitker, sr., Oskaloosa

Waylon Bolibaugh, jr., Oskaloosa

Jonathan Linder, jr., Oskaloosa

Keaton Flaherty, sr., Oskaloosa

Honorable Mention

Garrett Beerends, sr., Newton

Cole Conner, sr., Newton

Evan Grimm, sr., Newton

Reese Hammons, sr., Newton

Keith Moko, sr., Newton

Alex Thomason, jr., Newton

Austin Brady, sr., Newton

Nate Lampe, so., Newton

Blake Schilling, so., Newton

Jevin Rexroth, jr., Xavier

Spencer Mesch, sr., Xavier

Ben Volk, jr., Xavier

Jake Dougherty, sr., Xavier

Aidan Henry, sr., Xavier

Andrew Kleineck, sr., Xavier

Michael Blank, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Miles Thompson, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Reid Ortiz, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Asa Greco, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Preston Johnson, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Leighton Charters, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Reece Hoffman, jr., Clear Creek-Amana

Brock Sherman, jr., Clear Creek-Amana

Gunther Sandersfeld, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Blaine Stockman, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Xavier Williams, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Ethan Pegump, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Nick Johnson, jr., Clear Creek-Amana

Jack Stevens, so., Clear Creek-Amana

Sam Lund, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Tyler Steines, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Jack Downes, jr., Clear Creek-Amana

Caleb Briggs, sr., Pella

Gage Gift, jr., Pella

Caden Riggen, jr., Pella

Blake Meyer, sr., Pella

Quinn Rhamy, sr., Pella

Warren Feudner, sr., Oskaloosa

Dawson Braden, sr., Oskaloosa

Ikaika Opheim, sr., Oskaloosa

Caden Kelderman, sr., Oskaloosa

Junior Ramirez, jr., Oskaloosa

Eli Molineux, jr., Oskaloosa

Golden Apple

Tyson Elliott, sr., Newton

Jabari Dobbs, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Reece Thoreson, sr., Pella

Will Schultz, sr., Oskaloosa

Landon Briggs, sr., Oskaloosa