December 09, 2021

Noun Harder headlines 12 Hawks on all-district football squad

Lynnville-Sully won Class A District 6 with 6-0 mark

Lynnville-Sully’s Corder Noun Harder was injured early in his debut high school season last fall.

In 2021, the Hawk sophomore showed what L-S was missing last season when he went down.

Noun Harder led Class A District 6 in rushing yards, rushing touchdowns and yards per carry for the league champion Hawks and was named the District 6 Offensive MVP for his efforts.

Noun Harder was one of seven Hawks to earn a spot on the all-district first team. L-S head coach Mike Parkinson was voted District 6 Coach of the Year.

Joining him were seniors Braden Alberts and Ty Jones and juniors Kyle Squires, Mathias Torres, Lane Fisk and Conner Maston.

Senior Miles Mintle, sophomore Max Mintle and senior Gage Elscott were second-team selections and Maston also earned second-team recognition as a punter. The Hawks’ two honorable mention selections were juniors Jager Huyser and Caleb Rea.

All-district honors are based on statistics inside district play only. Lynnville-Sully went 6-0 in district play.

Noun Harder led the district with 870 rushing yards, 13 rushing TDs and had a district-best 12.1 yards per carry average.

He also returned a punt and a kickoff for touchdowns. He gained 121 yards on three kickoff returns and gained 124 yards on his seven punt returns.

Squires also was very productive as a Hawk tailback. He was third in the district with 556 rushing yards and tied for second with eight rushing TDs. Squires, who was a unanimous first-team selection, also was second behind Noun Harder with a nine yards per carry average and caught one pass for 14 yards.

Alberts, Miles Mintle and Huyser all were part of the L-S offensive line. They helped the L-S offense to a district-best 1,833 rushing yards, an 8.4 yards per carry average and 35 touchdowns.

Torres was a first-team selection as an offensive utility player. He caught one pass for a 31-yard TD in district play.

The Hawks had one first-team player at all three levels of the defense.

Jones was a unanimous first-team selection on the defensive line after ranking first in the district with 7 1/2 tackles for loss. He also ranked tied for fourth with 2 1/2 sacks and registered 22 1/2 tackles.

Fisk was a first-team linebacker after ranking sixth in the district with 37 1/2 tackles. He also tied for third with two interceptions and tied for 10th with four tackles for loss.

Maston was a first-team defensive back after tying for the district lead with three picks. He also had 26 1/2 tackles.

Max Mintle was a second-team linebacker after ranking tied for first with two fumble recoveries and tied for fourth with six tackles for loss. He also had 13 1/2 tackles and one sack.

Elscott earned second-team honors as a defensive lineman after recording seven tackles, one sack and 3 1/2 tackles for loss.

Maston was a second-team punter after averaging 33 yards per boot.

Rea joined Huyser as honorable mention. Rea caught one pass for 14 yards and gained four yards on his only carry. He also finished with 13 1/2 tackles and two interceptions on defense.

Class A District 6

Final Standings

Team District Overall

Lynnville-Sully 6-0 8-2

Belle Plaine 5-1 6-3

Ogden 3-3 4-5

Madrid 3-3 3-6

Colfax-Mingo 3-3 3-6

North Mahaska 1-5 2-6

Wayne 0-6 0-8

Offensive MVP

Corder Noun Harder, so., Lynnville-Sully

Defensive MVP

Ben DeMeulenaere, sr., Belle Plaine

Coach of the Year

Mike Parkinson, Lynnville-Sully


First Team


Quarterback: Cole Bracewell, sr., C-M.

Running Back: *Kyle Squires, jr., L-S; Matt Fuller, sr., Madrid.

Receiver: Curtis Horras, so., C-M; *Nash Smith, jr., North Mahaska; Jack Christensen, jr., Ogden.

Offensive Line: Braden Alberts, sr., L-S; Shane Aikin, sr., C-M; *Tristan Mallory, jr., Madrid; *Abraham Christensen, sr., Ogden; Chase Wickwire, jr., Belle Plaine.

Utility: Mathias Torres, jr., L-S.

Kicker: *Curtis Horras, so., C-M.


Defensive Line: *Ty Jones, sr., L-S; *Ashton Meland, jr., North Mahaska; *Eli Ehlen, sr., Belle Plaine; *Justin McConahay, sr., Wayne.

Linebacker: Lane Fisk, jr., L-S; *Connor Timm, jr., Belle Plaine; Brady Leonard, sr., Madrid; Chase Grandia, sr., North Mahaska.

Defensive Back: Conner Maston, jr., L-S; Jaydyn Steil, sr., North Mahaska; Dylan Perdue, jr., Ogden; Jake Kockler, jr., Madrid.

Punter: Ben DeMeulenaere, sr., Belle Plaine.

* Unanimous selections

Second Team


Quarterback: Lane Snedden, sr., Ogden

Running Back: Kaden Moorman, sr., Ogden; Ty Alcott, fr., Belle Plaine.

Receiver: Justin Myers, sr., C-M; Colton Lind, sr., C-M; Cael Pearson, jr., Ogden.

Offensive Line: Miles Mintle, sr., L-S; Wyatt Van Weelden, jr., North Mahaska; Nik Bolton, so., Ogden; Tristan Miller, jr., Madrid; Jack Schwenn, jr., Belle Plaine.

Utility: Sam Terpstra, sr., North Mahaska.

Kicker: Matthew Samuelson, so., Ogden.


Defensive Line: Gage Elscott, sr., L-S; Keaton Westberg, so., Ogden; Nolan Anderson, sr., Madrid; Sheldon Coover, sr., Belle Plaine.

Linebacker: Max Mintle, so., L-S; Corydon Kiefer, so., Wayne; Nathan Comer, so., Ogden; Nash Ramirez, so., Madrid.

Defensive Back: Trey Hockemeier, so., C-M; Strait Jacobson, jr., Wayne; Sean Knockel, sr., North Mahaska; Caydon Tucker, jr., Madrid.

Punter: Conner Maston, jr., L-S.

Honorable Mention

Jager Huyser, jr., L-S; Caleb Rea, jr., L-S; Grant Alexander, sr., C-M; Merritt McConeghey, so., C-M; Jeremy Reineke, so., Belle Plaine; Alex Wilson, jr., Ogden; Cohl Burdette, so., Ogden; Asher Den Adel, sr., Madrid; Jake Leonard, so., Madrid; Michael DeJong, sr., North Mahaska; Paul DeJong, jr., North Mahaska; Cutler Buban, fr., Wayne; Boudyn White, so., Wayne.