April 17, 2021

Three Mustangs earn spots on all-HOIC girls’ basketball teams

Lilli Baird given first-team honor

Three PCM seniors were named to the Heart of Iowa all-conference girls’ basketball teams recently.

Leading the way for the Mustangs was Lilli Baird, who was named to the first team. Emma George and Riley Hjortshoj were honorable mention selections.

Baird, George, Hjortshoj and senior Celeste Wagaman all earned academic all-conference recognition as well.

Baird ranked fifth in the conference in scoring, while George and Hjortshoj were both in the top-six in rebounding.

All-conference honors are based on statistics inside conference play only.

Baird led the Mustangs in scoring at 11.5 points per game. She also averaged 2.7 rebounds, 1.0 assists and 1.9 steals per game.

She shot 25 percent from the floor, connected on 26.7 percent of her 3-point shots and made 69.4 percent from the free-throw line.

Baird was 16-of-60 from 3-point range. The 16 made treys ranked seventh in the conference.

George’s 5.6 rebounds per game ranked fifth in the conference and her 2.5 steals per game was seventh. She also averaged 3.6 points per game.

She shot 20.3 percent from the floor and hit 77 percent from the line.

Hjortshoj averaged 4.2 points, 1.0 assists and 1.0 steals per game. Her 5.5 rebounds per game ranked sixth in the conference.

She shot 37.7 percent from the floor and made 33.3 percent from the foul line.

Heart of Iowa Conference

Final Standings

Team    Conference Overall

Roland-Story 11-0  17-5

Nevada 9-3  12-10

West Marshall 8-3 13-8

South Hamilton 4-7  10-11

Greene County  3-7  6-13

PCM 3-8  4-17

Saydel 0-10  2-14


First Team

Lilli Baird, sr., PCM

Madeline Morton, sr., R-S

Reagan Barkema, jr., R-S

Sydney Mosinski, sr., Nevada

Shelbi Hazlitt, jr., Nevada

Katy Reyerson, so., West Marshall

Lauren Soldberg, so., West Marshall

Makena Galetich, fr., South Hamilton

Second Team

Reece Johnson, jr., R-S

Keaton Pfantz, so., West Marshall

Caleigh Hewitt, jr., South Hamilton

Brianna Habben, jr., Greene County

Bridget Cahill, so., Nevada

Danielle Grady, sr., R-S

Maddie Dunham, jr., Nevada

Jadyn Nelson, sr., R-S

Honorable Mention

Emma George, sr., PCM

Riley Hjortshoj, sr., PCM

Sadie Wilson, sr., Greene County

Brianna Osterson, sr., Greene County

Alex Arnaud, jr., Nevada

Tessa Borwick, jr., Nevada

Jordyn Ramus, sr., R-S

Madison Martindale, sr., R-S

Emily Lowe, sr., Saydel

Daleaney Shinn, sr., Saydel

Emma Lewis, sr., South Hamilton

Mackenzy Grady, jr., South Hamilton

Delaney Nichols, sr., West Marshall

Avery Randall, sr., West Marshall