November 28, 2021

Five PCM boys earn all-HOIC hoops recognition

Andrew Mitchell earns first-team honors for Mustangs

Senior Andrew Mitchell finished in the top six in the Heart of Iowa Conference in three different statistical categories this past season and his efforts helped earn him first-team honors on the all-conference team.

Juniors Carson VandeLune and Durant Van Dyke were both second-team selections and seniors Gatlin Boell and Grant Landgrebe were honorable mention choices.

The all-conference teams were released recently after all teams in the league were eliminated from the postseason. All-conference honors are based on statistics inside conference play only.

Also earning academic all-conference honors were Boell, Van Dyke, VandeLune, seniors Carson Duinink, Jay Meinders and Gabe Lanphier and juniors Matt Rosonke and Keaton Thomas.

Mitchell led the HOIC in steals at 3.0 per game. He also ranked fifth in assists at 3.1 per game and his 12.4 points per game ranked sixth. He also averaged 3.3 rebounds per contest.

Mitchell shot 41 percent from the floor and made 61 percent from the free-throw line.

Van Dyke was the conference’s top rebounder at 9.6 per game and also averaged a conference-best 2.6 blocks per contest. He ranked 10th in scoring at 11.1 points per game and also averaged 1.6 assists and 1.3 steals per game.

He shot 53.7 percent from the floor and made 49 percent from the foul line.

VandeLune led the Mustangs in scoring in conference play and his 14 points per game ranked fifth in the league. He also ranked second in the league in steals at 2.7 per game and averaged 3.4 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game.

VandeLune shot 39 percent from the floor, 35 percent from 3-point range and 69 percent from the line. VandeLune hit 23 treys in conference play.

Boell ranked sixth in the conference in rebounds at 7.1 per game. He also averaged 9.0 points, 2.2 assists and 1.1 steals per game. Boell shot 39 percent from the floor, 28 percent from 3-point range and 40 percent from the foul line.

Landgrebe averaged 4.4 points, 2.1 rebounds, 1.5 assists and 1.1 steals per game. He shot 38 percent from the floor, 29.6 percent from 3-point range and 53.3 percent from the line.

Heart of Iowa Conference

Final Standings

Team   Conference Overall

Roland-Story 10-1   17-4

South Hamilton 8-3  15-7

Nevada 8-4 11-10

PCM 5-6 11-11

West Marshall 3-8  7-13

Greene County 3-7  5-15

Saydel 0-10  2-16


First Team

Andrew Mitchell, sr., PCM

Sam Skaar, sr., R-S

Colin Memmer, jr., Nevada

Ty Dittmer, jr., Nevada

Carter Hewitt, sr., South Hamilton

Adam McIlrath, sr., R-S

Jonovan Wilkinson, fr., R-S

Bryce Stalder, jr., Greene County

Second Team

Durant Van Dyke, jr., PCM

Carson VandeLune, jr., PCM

Luke Patton, so., R-S

Richard Daugherty, so., Greene County

James Edwards, jr., Nevada

Joey Tollefson, jr., West Marshall

Mason Hicks, so., Saydel

Kyler Hodnefield, sr., South Hamilton

Honorable Mention

Gatlin Boell, sr., PCM

Grant Landgrebe, sr., PCM

Max Riley, jr., Greene County

Zach Goff, sr., Greene County

Ayden Rhodes, sr., Nevada

Cooper Bovee, sr., Nevada

Nolan Faber, sr., R-S

Dhruv Patel, sr., R-S

Chris Malone, sr., Saydel

Judd Roberts, jr., Saydel

Freddie Lewis, sr., South Hamilton

Clayton Ubben, sr., South Hamilton

Peyton Hart, so., West Marshall

Parker Reese, jr., West Marshall