April 17, 2021

Baxter’s Damman leads three Bolts on all-ISC boys basketball teams

Sophomore Cody Damman was mostly a distributor as a freshman last year for Baxter’s boys’ basketball team.

This season, Damman moved into the Bolts’ primary scoring role and he finished sixth in the Iowa Star Conference South Division in points per game. And that helped him earn a spot on the all-conference first team recently.

Joining Damman on the Iowa Star Conference South Division all-conference teams were junior Rory Heer and sophomore Carson Scroggins. Heer was a second-team selection, while Scroggins earned honorable mention recognition.

The all-conference teams were released recently after all teams were eliminated from the postseason.

All-conference selections are based on statistics inside conference play only.

Damman finished sixth in the conference in points, assists and steals per game at 13.7, 3.0 and 2.1, respectively. He also averaged 3.7 rebounds per game and tied for the conference lead with Heer in free throw percentage at 84 percent.

Damman also shot 36.4 percent from the floor and connected on 29.4 percent from 3-point range. He was 20-of-68 from 3-point range.

Heer averaged 9.6 points, 4.5 rebounds, 1.2 assists and 1.3 steals per game. He ranked first in the conference in free-throw percentage at 84 percent.

His 37.5 percent shooting from 3-point range ranked third in the league and he also connected on 37.6 percent from the floor. Heer was 12-of-32 from 3-point range.

Scroggins averaged 9.3 points, 4.3 rebounds, 1.0 assists and 1.0 steals per game. His 2.8 blocks per game led the conference and he also shot 40.6 percent from the floor.

Scroggins’ 40.6 percent shooting from 3-point range ranked second in the league. He hit 13-of-32 from deep and made 53.3 percent from the line.

Iowa Star Conference

South Division

Final Standings

Team Conference Overall

Meskwaki Settlement School 12-0 20-4

Baxter 7-5 13-8

GMG 7-5 9-10

North Tama 6-6 9-14

Colo-NESCO 5-7 8-13

Collins-Maxwell 5-7 7-15

Valley Lutheran 0-12 0-19

Player of the Year

Taurice Grant, sr., Meskwaki Settlement

Coach of the Year

Garrett Bear, Meskwaki Settlement


First Team

Cody Damman, so., Baxter

Taurice Grant, sr, Meskwaki Settlement

Osceola Tyon, jr., Meskwaki Settlement

Avery Bryant, sr., GMG

Gabe Kopriva, jr., North Tama

Mason Markley, sr., Collins-Maxwell

Second Team

Rory Heer, jr., Baxter

Tiernan Wanatee, sr., Meskwaki Settlement

Jabari Woodbury, fr., GMG

Adam Greiner, jr., North Tama

Luke Huntrods, so., Collins-Maxwell

Lucas Frohwein, fr., Colo-NESCO

Honorable Mention

Carson Scroggins, so., Baxter

Weston Kahler, jr., Collins-Maxwell

Tanner Ingle, sr., Colo-NESCO

Kooper Gill, jr., GMG

Evan Nelson, sr., Meskwaki Settlement

Devin McKinley, jr., North Tama

Donovan Elmore, jr., Valley Lutheran