December 04, 2023

2023 city and school board election results

Incumbents retain seats for PCM School Board

Almost 6,000 votes were cast in Jasper County for the 2023 election.

Unofficial election results recorded by the Jasper County and Marion County Auditor’s Offices are in for the PCM School Board election and incumbents ruled the day. In three of the five races incumbents took the seats while two new members will fill the open positions.

In District 2, incumbent Greg Ingle received 624 votes. Fellow incumbent Scott Grass brought in 325 votes and Rebecca Bartelma garnered 138 votes.

Kelsey Fiorentin will join the board in District 3 after receiving 541 votes. Just eight votes separated Fiorentin and Brent Fridley, who received 533 votes.

Incumbent Rod DeHaai will retain his District 4 seat with 578 votes. Candidate Arica Brinegar had 490 ballots cast for her.

The open District 5 seat will be filled by Jeremy St. Peter who got 842 votes. Also running for the board was Brandon Teeple with 228 votes.

The final incumbent to earn back his seat was District 7′s Steve Nearmyer. He received 680 votes. Samantha Van Wyk brought in 414 votes

In the city elections, both mayors in Prairie City and Monroe will be back for another term. Chad Alleger and Doug Duinink will lead the city governments for the local communities.

Andy Algreen and Earl Butch Umble will take the two open city council seats in Monroe while Joe Disney, Derek Ingle, Phil Holland and Debbie Townsend will continue in their positions on the Prairie City City Council.

In Reasnor, Tami Weishaar will fill the mayoral seat after receiving 61.79 percent of the vote or Lorrie Cupp who came away with 38.24 percent. Derek Rice, Tara Rice and Darin Galbraith will all serve on the Reasnor City Council.