February 04, 2023

ISU Extension and Outreach recognizes staff for achievements

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach County offices in the southcentral area announced award recipients for outstanding achievements in 2022.

Tammy Welcher received the Spirit of Cy award for creating a collegial and supportive atmosphere in Jasper County. Welcher is instrumental in setting the tone for a positive work environment, leading the team with professionalism and grace. She interacts effectively and professionally with staff, clients and volunteers, provides unending support for all programs and is an excellent mentor for new and experienced staff in other regions.

Diane Van Wyngarden, tourism specialist for Community and Economic Development, received the Originality and Innovation in Programming award for her development of innovative programming that engaged partnerships outside of ISU Extension and Outreach not derived from another source. Van Wyngarden created two new programs to help revive local economies by attracting and retaining tourism dollars. She developed “Customer Service Training” for Iowa’s retail and small business front line staff. She also created the “Professional Guide Training and Certification” program to help staff give visitors a memorable experience at Iowa’s attractions.

ISU Extension and Outreach builds a strong Iowa by engaging all Iowans in research, education, and extension experiences to address current and emerging real-life challenges. Learn more at www.extension.iastate.edu.