August 15, 2022

Academic Achievement

Ellsworth Community College

IOWA FALLS – Sixty-three students have completed all requirements of their respective degree programs as of the end of the spring 2022 semester and are now graduates of Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls. These graduates were honored with their peers at the commencement ceremony in May and include Joshua Hefflefinger of Kellogg, AAS, Conservation Technology; and Bret Stravers of Sully, AAS, Agriculture: Precision Ag Track, 4.0 grade point average.

The following local students were named to the spring 2022 (January to May) dean’s list at Ellsworth Community College: Keely Birkenholtz of Colfax, Cheyanne Collins of Lynnville, Mariah Wolfe of Newton and Bret Stravers of Sully — who earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must have had at least a 3.5 grade point average for the spring 2022 semester.

Marshalltown Community College

MARSHALLTOWN – On May 13, graduates of Marshalltown Community College took their next step as they became alumni of the college. Graduates listed represent those who completed their degree or diploma work during the spring 2022 term and include: Jonathan Tessar of Colfax, AAS (Natural Gas Technician), Certificate (Natural Gas Advanced Fundamentals), Certificate (Natural Gas Construction Skills), Certificate (Natural Gas Customer Service Skills), and Diploma (Utility Technician); and Calalynn Beller of Kellogg, AA (Liberal Arts) 3.5 cumulative grade point average or higher.

Two hundred eight students were named to the spring 2022 (January to May) dean’s list at Marshalltown Community College and include: Charlee Arp of Kellogg, Calalynn Beller of Kellogg, Bryar Hill of Newton, Kyra Loshaw of Newton — who earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average, Kelsey Terpstra of Newton. To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average while attending MCC classes.

Wartburg College

WAVERLY — Wartburg College recognized 454 students who were named the 2022 winter/May term dean’s list and include: Faith Howard of Prairie City, Amber Martenson of Gilman, Eric Seebeck of Colfax. The list honors students who earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or above.

Iowa Central Community College

FORT DODGE — Area students named to Iowa Centrals honor’s lists for the spring 2022 semester include students named to the dean’s list with a 3.5-3.99 grade point average include: Heath Burgess of Newton, Kohl Fisher of Newton, Hailey Trease of Newton, Robert Williams of Newton; and students with a 4.0 grade point average who were named to the president’s list including: Caleb Duinink of Monroe, Tyler Ranner of Newton, Eric Weeks of Newton.

University of Alabama

TUSCALOOSA, AL — Sadie Clark was named to the University of Alabama deans list for spring semester 2022. To be named to the dean’s list student must have an academic record of 3.5 grade point average.

Luther College

DECORAH — Luther College announced the names of the outstanding undergraduates who have been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2022 semester. Local students include: Jannie Gowdy of Melbourne, Preston Sherwood of Newton, Laura Wyre of Newton and Hannah McCarthy of Prairie City. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or better.

Morningside University

SIOUX CITY — Morningside University has named Alexandra Inskeep of Reasnor, as Dimmitt Scholars in recognition of high academic distinction for the 2021-22 academic year. Dimmitt Scholars must be full-time students who have completed at least 45 credits with a cumulative grade point average between 3.50 and 3.75.