April 13, 2021

Steenhoek leads eight Tigerhawks on all-district squad

Colfax-Mingo senior Zach Steenhoek led Class 1A District 7 with 23 catches during district games this past season. His 247 yards ranked third in the district.

Steenhoek led a group of nine Tigerhawks on the all-district team. The other seven C-M players who earned all-district recognition were seniors Jayden Horrach and Andrew Gorman, juniors Cole Bracewell, Grant Alexander and Colton Lind, sophomore Nate Jones and freshman Trey Hockemeier.

Six Tigerhawks also were recognized as academic all-district players, including Steenhoek, Alexander, Gorman, senior A.J. Gibson, junior Justin Myers and sophomore Carter Gibson.

All-district selections are based on statistics inside district play only.

Steenhoek was a first-team selection at wide receiver. He led the Tigerhawks in receiving with 247 yards and a touchdown on 23 catches.

Bracewell was a second-team quarterback. He ranked fourth in passing yards in district play with 485 yards and also had three TDs and three picks. Bracewell rushed for 135 yards and a TD, too.

Horrach was a second-team running back after rushing for 362 yards and two TDs.

Alexander was a second-team offensive lineman and Gorman was an honorable mention offensive lineman. They helped the Tigerhawks rush for 589 yards and C-M ranked third in the district with 554 passing yards.

Defensively, Jones was a second-team linebacker and Hockemeier was an honorable mention pick as a defensive back.

Jones had 19 tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks, while Hockemeier added 18 tackles.

Lind was an honorable mention utility player. He recovered two fumbles on defense and had five catches for 105 yards and a TD on offense.

Class 1A District 7


Final Standings

Team District Overall

Mount Ayr 4-1 7-2

Pella Christian 4-1 6-4

Interstate 35 3-2 6-3

Pleasantville 3-2 5-3

Central Decatur 1-4 2-6

Colfax-Mingo 0-5 0-8

Offensive MVP

Isaac Kacmarynski, sophomore, PC.

Defensive MVP

Payton Wheeler, senior, MA.

First Team Offense

Quarterback — Jace Bedwell, junior, I-35

Running Backs — *Logan Cassady, junior, I-35; Isaac Mann, senior, Pleasantville.

Wide Receivers — Zach Steenhoek, senior, C-M; Trae Ehlen, senior, MA; Haden

Leymaster, senior, CD.

Offensive Line — *Tegan Carson, junior, CD; *Zach De Vries, senior, PC; *Ryley Snell, junior, I-35; *Matthew Kauffman, senior, Pleasantville; *Rhett Larson, senior, MA.

Utilty — Caylor Clark, senior, Pleasantville.

Kicker — Peyton Stull, junior, MA.

First Team Defense

Defensive Line — *Caleb Hobart, senior, I-35; *Seth Shelman, senior, MA; *Colton Barnes, junior, CD; *Luke Mulder, senior, PC.

Linebackers — *Jake DeJoode, junior, Pleasantville; *Erik Trujillo, senior, MA; *Cody Boender, senior, PC; *Cristian Roquet, senior, I-35.

Defensive Backs — *Dustin George, senior, I-35; Tyke Hullinger, junior, CD; Drew Geetings, junior, PC; Colby Sandholt, senior, Pleasantville.

Punters — Roquet, I-35; Bristol Huyck, junior, Pleasantville.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback — Cole Bracewell, junior, C-M.

Running Backs — Jayden Horrach, senior, C-M; Adler Shay, junior, MA.

Wide Receivers — *Caden Van Dyke, senior, PC; Dale Jolly, senior, Pleasantville; Trey Hullinger, junior, CD.

Offensive Line — *Grant Alexander, junior, C-M; *Donavon Morales, senior, MA; *Devin Rus, senior, PC; *Jack Maske, sophomore, I-35; *Braidy Friday, senior, Pleasantville.

Utility — Eric Mulder, junior, PC.

Kicker — *Jack Fancher, sophomore, PC.

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line — *Logan Kelderman, junior, PC; *Sam Vonnahme, senior, I-35; *Ross Stephens, sophomore, Pleasantville; *Cody Larson, junior, MA.

Linebackers — *Nate Jones, sophomore, C-M; *Chase Darst, junior, I-35; *Bristol Huyck, junior, Pleasantville; *Jayden Knight, sophomore, MA.

Defensive Backs — Ben Wicks, junior, Pleasantville; *Dawson Swank, senior, MA; *Matthew Boothe, junior, CD; *Bennett Spronk, junior, PC.

Punter — *Aiden Stoltz, sophomore, PC.

Honorable Mention

Quarterback — Jaixen Frost, sophomore, MA.

Running Backs — Devin Adams, junior, CD; Nick Steinlage, sophomore, I-35; Austin Cole, junior, MA.

Wide Receivers — Cody Boyle, junior, I-35; Cade Ward, junior, I-35.

Offensive Line — Andrew Gorman, senior, C-M; Grant Alsum, senior, PC; Kyle

Branderhorst, senior, PC; Justin Horn, senior, PC; Cole Sampson, senior, Pleasantville; Kody Garr, senior, Pleasantville.

Defensive Line — Trevor Daggett, junior, Pleasantville.

Linebacker — T.J. Fallis, senior, CD.

Defensive Backs — Trey Hockemeier,

freshman, C-M; Bryce Shaha, senior, MA.

Utility — Colton Lind, junior, C-M.

* denotes unanimous selection