Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
PCM Explorer

Four Mustangs earn all-HOIC volleyball honors

PCM’s volleyball team made a significant jump in wins in 2020. And finished fourth in the Heart of Iowa Conference with a .500 record.

Leading the way for the Mustangs was senior Celeste Wagaman, who earned first-team all-conference honors.

The all-conference teams were released recently. Junior Chelsea Bird was a second-team selection, while senior Jacki Vos and junior Claire Wilson were both honorable mention picks.

The HOIC also released the academic all-conference teams and 11 Mustangs earned recognition, including Wagaman, Vos, Wilson, Bird, seniors Erin VanPeursem, Emma Houser, Bella Stone, Emma Reed, Kassidy Block, Riley Hjortshoj and senior Lilli Baird.

All-conference honors are based on statistics in conference play only.

Wagaman led the Mustangs with 50 kills and averaged 2.3 kills per set.

She had a team-high eight blocks and finished with 11 digs and ranked fourth on the team with seven aces.

Bird had a team-best 68 digs in conference play this season.

She also served up a team-high 13 aces and finished with four assists.

Vos was second in kills with 37 and also had 12 digs. Wilson ranked second on the team with 31 digs and 11 aces and ranked third with 17 kills.

Wagaman was 60-of-71 in serves, while Bird served 83-of-92, Vos was 20-of-24 and Wilson hit on 68-of-79 serves.

Heart of Iowa Conference


Final Standings

Team Conference Overall

Roland-Story 6-0 23-8

Nevada 5-1 21-16

West Marshall 4-2 16-21

PCM 3-3 13-19

Greene County 2-4 8-19

South Hamilton 1-5 9-21

Saydel 0-6 2-26

First Team

Celeste Wagaman, senior, PCM

Madison Geise, junior, Roland-Story

Ava Charlson, senior, Roland-Story

Megan Greenfield, senior, Roland-Story

Sydney Mosinski, senior, Nevada

Ellie Gray, senior, Nevada

Katelyn Kingsbury, senior, Nevada

Avery Randall, senior, West Marshall

Brianna Osterson, senior, Greene County

Second Team

Chelsea Bird, junior, PCM

Reagan Barkema, senior, Roland-Story

Madison Martindale, senior, Roland-Story

Reagan Schmitz, senior, Roland-Story

Hannah Thomsen, senior, Nevada

Shelbi Hazlitt, junior, Nevada

Katy Reyerson, sophomore, West Marshall

Taylor Remsburg, junior, South Hamilton

Lily Muir, senior, Greene County

Honorable Mention

Jacki Vos, senior, PCM; Claire Wilson, junior, PCM; Danielle Grady, senior, Roland-Story; Reagan Vogelaar, senior, Roland-Story; Erin Coogler, senior, Nevada; Maddie Dunham, junior, Nevada; Reilly Jensen, junior, West Marshall; Halie Hohnstein, freshman, West Marshall; Zoey Duns, sophomore, South Hamilton; Kaylee Oskvig, senior, South Hamilton; Natalie Heupel, sophomore, Greene County; Isabella Schroeder, sophomore, Greene County; Daleaney Shinn, senior, Saydel; Kandice Sotter, senior, Saydel.

Loading more