Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Nine Newton gridders collect all-district recognition

Senior William Muckler was Newton football team’s top linemen this past season.

Junior Reese Hammons led the Cardinals on defense this fall. And junior Zay Arguello did just about everything you can do with the ball in your hands on offense.

All three Cardinals earned first-team recognition in Class 3A District 6 this past season.

Nine Newton players in all were recognized. Senior Lane Arrowood and juniors Keith Moko and Adam Mattes each were second-team choices, while seniors Nelson Lopez and A.J. Holdefer and junior Braydon Chance were honorable mention picks.

Thirteen Cardinals earned academic all-district honors. Those players included Muckler, Mattes, Arguello, seniors Owen Sanger, Ethan Machin and Jack Suttek, juniors Nate Maki and Breyton Schwenker and sophomores Alex Thomason, Jacob Nichols, Carson Satterfield, Brody Bauer and Noah Tibben.

All-district selections are based on statistics inside district play only.

Muckler, Arrowood and Lopez all were two-way players on the lines. Muckler had 14.5 tackles, one sack and two tackles for loss on defense, while Arrowood had 7.5 tackles and Lopez finished with eight tackles.

The Cardinal offense had 771 yards rushing, 494 passing yards and nine touchdowns.

Arguello led the Cardinals with 424 passing yards and 324 rushing yards and added four catches for 32 yards. He scored seven total touchdowns and had six tackles on defense.

Hammons was the team’s leading tackler in district play with 26. He also had 2.5 tackles for loss and a pick six.

Moko tallied 13.5 tackles, one pick and returned a fumble for a TD on defense and led the Cardinals with 15 catches for 188 yards and two TDs on offense.

Mattes finished with 21.5 tackles and hauled in six catches for 110 yards.

Chance finished with 17.5 tackles and three tackles for loss. Holdefer chipped in 110 rushing yards and had two catches for 11 yards.

Class 3A District 6


Final Standings

Team District Overall

*C.R. Xavier 5-0 10-0

Grinnell 4-1 8-3

Clear Creek-Amana 3-2 4-4

Benton 2-3 3-5

Oskaloosa 1-4 2-6

Newton 0-5 0-8

* season is not over yet

Overall Player of the Year

Jaxon Rexroth, senior, Xavier

Offensive Player of the Year

Wyatt Hunter, senior, Grinnell

Defensive Player of the Year

T.J. Bollers, senior, CCA

District Punter

Ben Swails, junior, CCA

District Kicker

Lincoln Oakley, senior, Xavier

Offensive Lineman of the Year

Dodge Sauser, senior, Grinnell

Defensive Lineman of the Year

Mike Steffen, senior, Xavier

Coaching Staff of the Year

Duane Schulte and staff, Xavier

First Team

William Muckler, senior, Newton

Zay Arguello, junior, Newton

Reese Hammons, junior, Newton

Jaxon Rexroth, senior, Xavier

Lincoln Oakley, senior, Xavier

Mike Steffen, senior, Xavier

Nick Lemke, senior, Xavier

Jack Breitbach, senior, Xavier

Nick Mautino, senior, Xavier

Ryan Volk, senior, Xavier

Myles Butkowski, senior, Xavier

Nick Tobin, senior, Xavier

Jack Lux, senior, Xavier

Jack Ward, senior, Xavier

Wyatt Hunter, senior, Grinnell

Dodge Sauser, senior, Grinnell

Owen Coffman, senior, Grinnell

Dallas Sauser, sophomore, Grinnell

Eli Rose, senior, Grinnell

Matayas Durr, senior, Grinnell

Kyle Dillon, senior, Grinnell

Ryan Navara, senior, CCA

Alex Figueroa, senior, CCA

TJ Hansen, senior, CCA

Tom Johnson, senior, CCA

Harrison Rosenberg, junior, CCA

Nate Beckmann, senior, CCA

TJ Bollers, senior, CCA

Ben Swails, junior, CCA

Jacob Brecht, junior, Benton

Ethan Weirather, senior, Benton

Austin Roos, senior, Benton

Kyler Mahan, junior, Benton

Cade Timmerman, senior, Benton

Will Schultz, junior, Oskaloosa

Cale Holmberg, senior, Oskaloosa

Cooper Spry, senior, Oskaloosa

Colin Snitker, junior, Oskaloosa

Second Team

Lane Arrowood, senior, Newton

Keith Moko, junior, Newton

Adam Mattes, junior, Newton

Tyler Atkinson, senior, Benton

Jaxson Snitker, senior, Benton

Landen Schmuecker, senior, Benton

Tommy Morlan, junior, CCA

Anthony Hennes, senior, CCA

Arron Feinberg, senior, CCA

Trey Gohlmann, senior, Grinnell

Kam Steveson, senior, Grinnell

Cole McGriff, junior, Grinnell

Noah Ide, senior, Oskaloosa

Josh Barish, senior, Xavier

Nick Kramer, senior, Xavier

Aiden McDermott, sophomore, Xavier

Honorable Mention

Braydon Chance, junior, Newton

A.J. Holdefer, senior, Newton

Nelson Lopez, senior, Newton

Leland Evans, senior, Oskaloosa

Reed Brown, senior, Oskaloosa

Christian Stanek, junior, Xavier

Nate Westhoff, junior, Xavier

Blake Kellen, senior, Xavier

Sam Wallace, sophomore, Benton

Laurence Wallace, junior, Benton

Colin Buch, junior, Benton

Joey Lepire, senior, CCA

Gage Freeman, junior, CCA

Brock Reade, senior, CCA

Calvin Jaworski, junior, Grinnell

Cole Johnson, senior, Grinnell

AJ Wilkins, senior, Grinnell

Gene Blalock, sophomore, Grinnell

Ian Kephart, junior, Grinnell

Loading more