Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Eight Tigerhawks earn all-district football honors

Colfax-Mingo senior Zach Steenhoek led Class 1A District 7 with 23 catches during district games this past season. His 247 yards ranked third in the district.

Steenhoek led a group of nine Tigerhawks on the all-district team. The other seven C-M players who earned all-district recognition were seniors Jayden Horrach and Andrew Gorman, juniors Cole Bracewell, Grant Alexander and Colton Lind, sophomore Nate Jones and freshman Trey Hockemeier.

Six Tigerhawks also were recognized as academic all-district players, including Steenhoek, Alexander, Gorman, senior A.J. Gibson, junior Justin Myers and sophomore Carter Gibson. Academic all-district is awarded to sophomores, juniors or seniors who have a grade point average of at least 3.25.

All-district selections are based on statistics inside district play only.

Steenhoek was a first-team selection at wide receiver. He led the Tigerhawks in receiving with 247 yards and a touchdown on 23 catches.

Bracewell was a second-team quarterback. He ranked fourth in passing yards in district play with 485 yards and also had three TDs and three picks. Bracewell rushed for 135 yards and a TD, too.

Horrach was a second-team running back after rushing for 362 yards and two TDs.

Alexander was a second-team offensive lineman and Gorman was an honorable mention offensive lineman. They helped the Tigerhawks rush for 589 yards and C-M ranked third in the district with 554 passing yards.

Defensively, Jones was a second-team linebacker and Hockemeier was an honorable mention pick as a defensive back.

Jones had 19 tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks, while Hockemeier added 18 tackles.

Lind was an honorable mention utility player. He recovered two fumbles on defense and had five catches for 105 yards and a TD on offense.

Class 1A District 7


Final Standings

Team District Overall

Mount Ayr 4-1 7-2

Pella Christian 4-1 6-4

Interstate 35 3-2 6-3

Pleasantville 3-2 5-3

Central Decatur 1-4 2-6

Colfax-Mingo 0-5 0-8

Offensive MVP

Isaac Kacmarynski, sophomore, Pella Christian

Defensive MVP

Payton Wheeler, senior, Mount Ayr

First Team Offense

Quarterback — Jace Bedwell, junior, I-35

Running Backs — *Logan Cassady, junior, I-35; Isaac Mann, senior, Pleasantville.

Wide Receivers — Zach Steenhoek, senior, Colfax-Mingo; Trae Ehlen, senior, Mount Ayr; Haden Leymaster, senior, Central Decatur.

Offensive Line — *Tegan Carson, junior, Central Decatur; *Zach De Vries, senior, Pella Christian; *Ryley Snell, junior, I-35; *Matthew Kauffman, senior, Pleasantville; *Rhett Larson, senior, Mount Ayr.

Utilty — Caylor Clark, senior, Pleasantville.

Kicker — Peyton Stull, junior, Mount Ayr.

First Team Defense

Defensive Line — *Caleb Hobart, senior, I-35; *Seth Shelman, senior, Mount Ayr; *Colton Barnes, junior, Central Decatur; *Luke Mulder, senior, Pella Christian.

Linebackers — *Jake DeJoode, junior, Pleasantville; *Erik Trujillo, senior, Mount Ayr; *Cody Boender, senior, Pella Christian; *Cristian Roquet, senior, I-35.

Defensive Backs — *Dustin George, senior, I-35; Tyke Hullinger, junior, Central Decatur; Drew Geetings, junior, Pella Christian; Colby Sandholt, senior, Pleasantville.

Punters — Roquet, I-35; Bristol Huyck, junior, Pleasantville.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback — Cole Bracewell, junior, Colfax-Mingo.

Running Backs — Jayden Horrach, senior, Colfax-Mingo; Adler Shay, junior, Mount Ayr.

Wide Receivers — *Caden Van Dyke, senior, Pella Christian; Dale Jolly, senior, Pleasantville; Trey Hullinger, junior, Central Decatur.

Offensive Line — *Grant Alexander, junior, Colfax-Mingo; *Donavon Morales, senior, Mount Ayr; *Devin Rus, senior, Pella Christian; *Jack Maske, sophomore, I-35; *Braidy Friday, senior, Pleasantville.

Utility — Eric Mulder, junior, Pella Christian.

Kicker — *Jack Fancher, sophomore, Pella Christian.

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line — *Logan Kelderman, junior, Pella Christian; *Sam Vonnahme, senior, I-35; *Ross Stephens, sophomore, Pleasantville; *Cody Larson, junior, Mount Ayr.

Linebackers — *Chase Darst, junior, I-35; *Bristol Huyck, junior, Pleasantville; *Jayden Knight, sophomore, Mount Ayr; *Nate Jones, sophomore, Colfax-Mingo.

Defensive Backs — Ben Wicks, junior, Pleasantville; *Dawson Swank, senior, Mount Ayr; *Matthew Boothe, junior, Central Decatur; *Bennett Spronk, junior, Pella Christian.

Punter — *Aiden Stoltz, sophomore, Pella Christian.

Honorable Mention

Quarterback — Jaixen Frost, sophomore, Mount Ayr.

Running Backs — Devin Adams, junior, Central Decatur; Nick Steinlage, sophomore, I-35; Austin Cole, junior, Mount Ayr.

Wide Receivers — Cody Boyle, junior, I-35; Cade Ward, junior, I-35.

Offensive Line — Andrew Gorman, senior, Colfax-Mingo; Grant Alsum, senior, Pella Christian; Kyle Branderhorst, senior, Pella Christian; Justin Horn, senior, Pella Christian; Cole Sampson, senior, Pleasantville; Kody Garr, senior, Pleasantville.

Defensive Line — Trevor Daggett, junior, Pleasantville.

Linebacker —áT.J. Fallis, senior, Central Decatur.

Defensive Backs — Trey Hockemeier, freshman, Colfax-Mingo; Bryce Shaha, senior, Mount Ayr.

Utility — Colton Lind, junior, Colfax-Mingo.

* denotes unanimous selection

Loading more