Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Three Cardinals earn all-conference volleyball honors

Senior Kate Callaghan followed up her first-team all-conference selection in 2019 with another first-team honor in 2020 after leading Newton’s volleyball team in assists, digs and aces this past season.

Joining Callaghan on the all-Little Hawkeye Conference volleyball team were Newton seniors Meg Callaghan and Kynnedei Terpstra, who were both honorable mention choices.

All-conference honors are based on statistics inside LHC play only.

Kate Callaghan finished with a team-high 194 assists, 74 digs and 22 aces. She was second on the Cardinals with 65 kills and 13 blocks.

Kate Callaghan, who reached 1,000 assists for her career earlier this season, was 127-of-145 in serves.

Terpstra led Newton with 66 kills and was fourth in digs with 40. She had 11 aces and was 56-of-74 in serves.

Meg Callaghan led the team with 19 blocks, ranked third with 11 assists and was fourth on the team with 39 kills.

Meg Callaghan, who was an honorable mention player last year, too, finished 89-of-99 in serves. She added 14 digs and was fourth on the team with 14 aces.

Little Hawkeye Conference

2020 Volleyball

Final Standings

Team Conference Overall

Dallas Center-Grimes 7-0 17-5

Pella 5-2 23-12

Indianola 5-2 12-13

Norwalk 4-3 18-18

Oskaloosa 4-3 21-8

Pella Christian 2-5 18-17

Newton 1-6 13-18

Grinnell 0-7 3-22


First Team

Kate Callaghan, Sr., Newton, setter

Lauren Blake, Jr.., Indianola, setter

Faith De Ronde, Jr., Oskaloosa, OH

Bailey Van Voorst, Jr., Pella, OH

Grace Mikota, Sr., DCG, OH

Haylee Hidlebaugh, Sr., DCG, MH

Anna Vander Waal, Jr., Pella, setter

Noelle Sutcliffe, Fr., Norwalk, OH

Avey Amelse, Jr., Pella Christian, OH

Second Team

Lexi Protzman, Sr., DCG, MH

Kenna Jackson, Jr., DCG, setter

Jasmine Namminga, So., Pella, MH

Ella Corbin, Jr., Pella, MH

Lizzie Espnmiller-McGraw, Jr., Indianola, OH

Grace Sutcliffe, Sr., Norwalk, setter

Maleah Walker, So., Oskaloosa, MH/OH

Olivia Gordon, Jr., Oskaloosa, OH

Sarah Gritters, Jr., Pella Christian, OH

Honorable Mention

Newton — Meg Callaghan, Sr., MB; Kynnedei Terpstra, Sr., OH. DCG — Jillian Janssen, So., setter; Sydney Anderson, Sr., libero. Grinnell — Daysi Harris, Sr., OH; Makenna Smith, Jr., OH. Indianola — Kira Matthias, Sr., libero; Kailey Peters, So., MH. Norwalk — Abigail Brenizer, Jr., OH; Camryn McKay, Jr., libero. Oskaloosa — Abygail Thompson, Jr., MH; Macie Krier, Jr., DS. Pella — Meridith Rowe, Jr., OH; Macy Schulz, Sr., libero. Pella Christian — Trinity Vos, Jr., MH; Kyah Chamberlain, Jr., setter.

Loading more