Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

PCM girls win team title, C-M boys second at Pleasantville

PLEASANTVILLE — Sophomore Paige Steenhoek and freshman Tiffani Koonce both medaled, all seven varsity finishers were in the top 30 and PCM's girls' cross country team won the championship at the Pleasantville Trojan Invitational on Sept. 15.

Steenhoek was the runner-up and Koonce finshed third as the Mustangs won the team title with 52 points.

Central Decatur was next with 66 points and the only other two teams to score less than 100 points were Mount Ayr (95) and Lynnville-Sully (98).

Lynnville-Sully senior Caitlin Alberts was the other area female medalist. Alberts finished sixth.

L-S senior Megan Van Zante narrowly missed a medal in 16th as the top 15 finishers were awarded placing medals. PCM sophomore Riley DeVore placed 18th.

Colfax-Mingo scored 200 points in eighth. The Tigerhawks' top finisher was senior Daytin Chadwick in 41st.

On the boys' side, Class 2A No. 9 Central Decatur won the title with 33 points, while Colfax-Mingo had 83 points in second. Grand View Christian was third with 102.

PCM was fifth with 141 points. Clarke also scored 141 points but took fourth because it had a sixth runner.

Positions four through seven were separated by only four points as Interstate 35 (142) was sixth and Lynnville-Sully (145) took seventh.

The three medalists from the boys' race were Lynnville-Sully sophomore James Gruver in fifth, Colfax-Mingo sophomore Max VanDusseldorp in sixth and senior Noah Strohmeyer in 13th.

Colfax-Mingo sophomore Carter Gibson just missed a top-15 finish in 17th.

Steenhoek's runner-up time was clocked at 20 minutes, 26 seconds. She trailed Class 1A No. 30 J'Lyn Knutson by 9 seconds. Class 1A No. 19 Abbi Goering of Interstate 35 finished 11th.

Koonce was third in 21:33. The rest of PCM's girls' varsity lineup included DeVore (23:01) in 18th and sophomore Jillian Fairbanks (23:22), senior Margo Chipps (23:32) and junior Taryn Steenhoek (23:44) in 22nd, 23rd and 24th, respectively.

The final varsity runner was junior Delaney Baird in 27th with a time of 24:13.

Alberts was clocked at 21:44 to lead the Hawks. Class 1A No. 10 Greenlee Smock started the race but did not finish after getting sick on the course.

Van Zante's time was 22:44 in 16th. The rest of the Hawks' lineup included sophomore Kinsley Tice (24:30) in 30th, junior Callista Hackert (25:13) in 33rd and freshman Brooke Conover (26:24) in 43rd.

Chadwick finished her 5K race in 26:01. Sophomore Felicity Woods (27:12) came in 48th followed by sophomore Joslyn Chadwick (27:44) in 51st, junior Kirsten Frier (29:11) in 58th and senior Maggie Schroeder (30:53) in 65th.

The final two Tigerhawk varsity finishers were seniors Brennan Rhone (30:54) and Elayna Creech (32:55) in 66th and 70th, respectively.

Winning the boys' 5K race was 1A No. 3 Randy Jimenez of Southeast Warren as he finished in 15:33. The runner-up was 2A No. 7 William Gillis of Central Decatur in 16:02.

VanDusseldorp led Colfax-Mingo in sixth with a time of 17:52. Strohmeyer's 13th-place finish was clocked at 18:33.

The final three scoring runners for the Tigerhawks were Gibson (18:53) in 17th, senior Avery Lees (personal-best 20:00) in 30th and junior Coleman Craig (20:19) in 35th.

Senior A.J. Gibson (20:56) and sophomore Mason Edwards (22:16) came in 44th and 58th, respectively.

Gruver's fifth-place time was 17:46. The rest of the Hawks' lineup included sophomore Zach Morningstar (19:33) in 23rd, sophomore Gentry Walston (20:22) in 36th, senior Mason Jansen (20:57) in 45th, freshman Luke Farrell (23:16) in 71st and sophomore Evan Fikse (23:32) in 73rd.

PCM's top finisher was sophomore newcomer Caden Bouwkamp as he was 21st in his first-ever high school race. He finished in 19:28.

Junior Kyle Sanders was 25th in 19:38 and senior Beau Webb finished 31st in 20:05. Senior Garin Padget came in 32nd with a time of 20:10 and senior Colton St. Pierre was 61st in 22:36.

Loading more