Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Damman leads eight Bolts on all-district team

Cole Damman
Cole Damman

Baxter’s football team had the most yards and touchdowns in Class 8-man District 5 this past season. The Bolts averaged 54.6 points per game in their seven district games.

The leader of that offense was senior quarterback Cole Damman, and he was named 8-man District 5 Offensive MVP in 2019.

The Bolts went 5-5 on the season, and Damman carried Baxter to wins in the final two games.

Joining Damman on the all-district first team were senior offensive lineman Micah Kearns, senior tight end Carter Nelsen, sophomore wide receiver Rory Heer and freshman defensive back Cody Damman.

Baxter’s honorable mention selections included junior wideout Kael Johnston, freshman linebacker Jake Travis and freshman offensive lineman Trice Clapper.

Cole Damman was the team leader on both sides of the ball. He threw for 1,746 yards, 29 touchdowns and six interceptions this season. He also rushed for 1,206 yards and 22 TDs. He led the Bolts in scoring this season with 156 points.

The 1,746 passing yards currently sits 10th in 8-man. The 29 passing TDs is currently eighth and the 22 rushing TDs is 10th.

In district play, Damman threw for 1,475 yards, 23 TDs and five picks while rushing for 1,072 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Kearns and Clapper were part of the Bolts’ offensive line that paved the way for a district-most 3,922 yards. Baxter rushed for 2,089 yards as a team and scored 66 TDs.

Heer was the second most productive offensive player for the Bolts this season.

Heer rushed for 601 yards and nine TDs and was second in the district with 56 catches for 742 yards and ranked fourth with nine TDs.

In district play, Heer had 491 rushing yards and seven TDs and 41 catches for 619 yards and six scores.

Nelsen saved his best season for last, finishing with 36 catches for 392 yards and 10 touchdowns as the Bolts’ tight end. The 10 TDs ranked third in the district, while the 36 catches ranked sixth and 392 yards were ninth.

In district play, Nelsen hauled in 28 catches for 322 yards and nine TDs.

The lone Bolt named to an all-district defensive spot was Cody Damman, who finished with 62 tackles and three interceptions. The three picks ranked in a tie for sixth in the district.

In district play, Cody Damman had 51 tackles and three picks.

Johnston missed a few games with an injury but still did enough to earn honorable mention recognition as a wideout. He hauled in 27 catches for 223 yards and four TDs overall and had 17 catches for 174 yards and two scores in district games.

Travis had 62 tackles, two sacks and recovered two fumbles as a Baxter linebacker. In district play, Travis finished with 46.5 tackles and one fumble recovery.

Class 8-man District 5

Final Standings

Gladbrook-Reinbeck 7-0


Collins-Maxwell 5-2

Baxter 4-3

Colo-NESCO 3-4

Meskwaki Settlement School 2-5

Melcher-Dallas 1-6

Twin Cedars 0-7

MVP Offense

Cole Damman, sr., Baxter

MVP Defense

Titan Opperman, sr., AGWSR

MVP Lineman

Aiden Walters, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck

MVP Special Teams

Eli Thede, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Coach of the Year

John Olson, Gladbrook-Reinbeck

First-Team Offense

QB — Damman, sr., Baxter; Kadin Bennett, sr., Collins-Maxwell; Cullen Eiffler, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

RB — Keegan Giesking, jr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Jaden Penning, jr., AGWSR; Andrew Grover, so., Colo-NESCO.

OL — Micah Kearns, sr., Baxter; Walters, Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Austin Wittgreve, jr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Tanner Weichers, sr., AGWSR; Jackson Shaw, sr., Colo-NESCO; Reimundo Balderas, so., Meskwaki; Trenton Reed, sr., Twin Cedars.

TE — Carter Nelsen, sr., Baxter

WR — Rory Heer, so., Baxter; Brett Livesay, sr., Collins-Maxwell; Lamell Velezquez, so., Meskwaki; Ryan Krpan, jr., Melcher-Dallas; Thede, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

Kicker — Thede, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Ephram Muntz, so., Colo-NESCO.

First-Team Defense

LB — Opperman, sr., AGWSR; Drake Blakesley, so., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Jace Peterson, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Simon McKinney, sr., Collins-Maxwell; Francis Bower, sr., Colo-NESCO; Tiernan Wanatee, jr., Meskwaki; Cody Metz, so., Melcher-Dallas; Noe Von Trzebiafowski, sr., Melcher-Dallas.

DL — Sam Mussig, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Kale Hasselman, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Brody Roder, sr., AGWSR; Jacob Haley, jr., AGWSR; Rylee Scott, jr., Collins-Maxwell.

DB — Cody Damman, fr., Baxter; Aiden Wyatt, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Chase Harms, jr., AGWSR; Taurice Grant, jr., Meskwaki; Brandon Roberts, jr., Colo-NESCO.

Punter — Penning, jr., AGWSR; Donovan Slick-Driscoll, fr., Meskwaki.

Honorable Mention

Baxter — Kael Johnston, jr.; Jake Travis, fr.; Trice Clapper, fr.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck — Trey Eggers, so.; Cody Gebel, so.

AGWSR — Trey Lashbrook, jr.; Cale Culver, so.

Melcher-Dallas — Steven Krpan, jr.; Evan Putz, jr.

Colo-NESCO — Tanner Ingle, jr.; Parker Ryan, jr.

Meskwaki Settlement — Standford Kapayou, sr.; Emmett Roberts, jr.; Evan Nelson, jr.; Damitry Davenport, sr.

Loading more