Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Jasper County Tribune

Election time

Polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday for city, school board, bond votes

In less than a week citizens will have the opportunity to go to the polls and cast votes in local elections. On the ballot in Baxter, Colfax and Mingo will be city positions including mayor and city council and school board candidates and the bond referendum for the Colfax Mingo School District.

For the C-M School Board, Jan Myers is looking to continue serving District 2 along with Mardell Tomlonovic in District 3 and Mary Poulter in District 4. District 6 will have a new name on the ballot with Don Gibson up to serve his first term.

The Baxter School Board will see not turnover with three current members unopposed for re-election. Collette Kunkel, Debra Meyer and Kimberly Tichy will be on the ballot to serve another term for the community of Baxter.

In Colfax, mayor David Mast is uncontested in his re-election bid. Current city council members Curtis Small (at-large), Bryan Poulter (Ward 1) and Wes Synder (Ward 3) are all running unopposed for their seats.

The Mingo mayoral position has current mayor Gary Bartels on the ballot and three candidates for two available council seats. Current councilwoman Rhonda Milligan, Kristen Crozier and Stacy Lane are running to serve the City of Mingo.

The same is true in Baxter with current mayor Gennypher Popenhagen running uncontested and three hopefuls vying for two open council seats. Current council members Jason Robinson and Kelly Milligan along with Tootie Samson will be on the ballot in Baxter.

For the Colfax-Mingo School District, votes will also have the bond referendum on their ballot. The referendum includes a $12 million general obligation bond to provide funds to construct, furnish and equip an addition to the existing high school building including a gym, fitness/weight room and wrestling room and related remodeling and to equip an athletic stadium and improve the site.

Clear Creek and Poweshiek Township residents will vote at the Mingo Community Building 202 E. Railroad St. in Mingo. Colfax Wards 1, 2 and 3 will vote at the Jasper County Fairgrounds, 359 Walnut St. in Colfax. Mound Prairie and Washington Township residents vote at the Colfax Fire Station, 113, W. State St. in Colfax. Independence, Malaka and Mariposa Townships along with Baxter city residents vote at Baxter City Hall 203 S. Main St. in Baxter.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Tuesday. Voter must vote at the precinct they reside in. Pre-registered voters are required to provide an approved form of identification including an Iowa Driver’s License, non-operator ID, passport, military or veterans ID or tribal ID, at the polling place. Those who are not pre-registered must also provide proof of residence.

Any questions about voting can be directed to the Jasper County Auditor’s Office at 641-792-7016.

Contact Jamee A. Pierson at 641-792-3121 ext. 6534 or

Loading more