Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Jasper County Tribune

C-M’s Underwood wins SICL title, girls take second

Colfax-Mingo's Delaney Underwood won her second straight South Iowa Cedar League girls' golf championship on May 6 at Oakland Acres Golf Course in Grinnell. The Tigerhawk girls finished second as a team.
Colfax-Mingo's Delaney Underwood won her second straight South Iowa Cedar League girls' golf championship on May 6 at Oakland Acres Golf Course in Grinnell. The Tigerhawk girls finished second as a team.

GRINNELL — Three Colfax-Mingo golfers brought home hardware from the South Iowa Cedar League golf tournament on May 6.

And all three were better than they were a season ago on the same Oakland Acres Golf Course.

Colfax-Mingo’s Delaney Underwood won medalist honors for the second straight season, while Brielle Reed grabbed the final medal with a 12th-place finish.

That Tigerhawk duo led the girls’ team to a second-place finish.

“Delaney turned in a solid round,” Colfax-Mingo coach Mike Underwood said. “She really got it going on the back nine. I was proud of Brielle (Reed) for also earning her first SICL medal. Brielle suffered a couple unfortunate breaks late in her round or she would have been under 100.”

On the boys’ side, Jason Rhinehart led the Tigerhawks with a fifth-place finish.

Improvement was the theme on May 6. Colfax-Mingo’s girls finished second as a team one season after taking third.

“Overall I was pleased with our team effort today,” Coach Underwood said. “Iowa Valley has a strong program every year.

I knew we had a shot at them today if we played well, and we did.”

Colfax-Mingo’s boys were sixth last year but moved up to fifth this year.

Underwood, who will golf for Central College at the next level, shot an 85 last year to win her first SICL title. She bettered that score by six shots in her final season and her 10-over-par 79 was 12 shots better than runner-up Tessa Van Maanen of Lynnville-Sully.

Underwood went 42-37 for her round. Van Maanen shot a 50-41.

Reed, who birdied her first hole of the day, carded a 104 this time around for Colfax-Mingo after shooting a 117 last season.

Rhinehart had the third best score on C-M’s team last season. He was 18 shots better in 2019, finishing with an 82.

“Jason wasn’t always a varsity golfer last year, so today is a nice payoff for all of the hard work he put in last summer and over the winter,” Coach Underwood said.

Iowa Valley won the girls’ team title with a 398. Colfax-Mingo was three shots back in second with a 401. English Valleys (443) edged Lynnville-Sully (445) by two strokes to take third.

Sigourney won the boys’ team title with a 335. Dustin Haines was the medalist with a 73. Haines had a hole-in-one on the par 3 No. 18.

Iowa Valley was second with a 348, followed by HLV (355), English Valleys (372) and Colfax-Mingo (373). Lynnville-Sully shot a 494 in 11th.

The other two counting scores for the C-M girls came from Sydni Hostetter (107) and Reghan Robinette (111). Kira Warrick (122) and Shanen Shedenhelm (125) had non-counting scores. Hostetter was 15th overall and Robinette finished 20th.

“I was proud of the way the girls battled and stayed positive through some tough holes,” Coach Underwood said. “I’ve been stressing as we approach postseason that every stroke matters and we can’t let one bad shot lead to more. Today is a perfect example as the difference between first and second was only three strokes.”

After Rhinehart for the C-M boys were Brady Berkey and Skyler Aikin, who both shot a 96. Ahren Teed was the final counting score at 99. Nic Duffy (114) and Brode Nichol (123) had non-counting scores.

Berkey bettered his score from last season by seven shots.

C-M’s girls began postseason play with the opening round of regionals at Lake Panorama on May 13. If the Tigerhawks advance out of regionals, they play in the regional finals at 10 a.m. on May 20 in Pleasantville.

C-M boys’ season ends at sectionals

WOODWARD — One stroke.

That’s what separated the final individual district qualifier from two Colfax-Mingo golfers at a Class 2A sectional golf meet at Woodward Golf and Country Club on May 10.

Rhinehart and Teed both carded 96s but needed a 95 to extend their season.

Instead, Colfax-Mingo’s boys’ golf season ended at sectionals after the Tigerhawks shot a 425.

Des Moines Christian had the top four finishers and all four golfers shot 83 or less as the Lions finished with a 322. Des Moines Christian defeated host Woodward-Granger (368) by 46 shots. Roland-Story (371) also advanced to districts as a third team.

West Marshall shot a 374, Madrid carded a 421 and Colfax-Mingo was next with its 425. Colo-NESCO/Collins-Maxwell finished last with a 531.

Rhinehart and Teed both shot 96s and tied for 14th overall. Duffy (113) and Nichol (120) had the other two counting scores. Jake Nichols and Aikin both shot a non-counting 123.

Des Moines Christian’s Nate Juffer and Jake Weissenburger finished first and second, respectively, with a 79.

Tigerhawks win C-M Girls Invitational

COLFAX — Underwood won medalist honors and Hostetter was third during the C-M Girls Invitational on May 10.

Underwood shot a 43 to win the tournament. The Tigerhawks shot a 203 to win the tournament, while PCM carded a 208 in second. ADM finished third with a 227 and Colfax-Mingo’s junior varsity shot a 303.

Underwood was the difference in winning the tournament for the Tigerhawks.

Hostetter and PCM”s Mack Bussan and Gabbi Van Baale all shot 49. Bussan took second because of a card back and Hostetter finished third.

For Colfax-Mingo, Shedenhelm finished sixth with a 52 and Reed came in 12th with a 59. Warrick (64) and Robinette (66) had non-counting scores.

Colfax-Mingo’s JV was led by Kristen Frier (73) and Morgan Van Dyke (74). Meredith Mays and Katie Schlosser both had 78s.

Loading more