December 01, 2023

Berryhill recognized as Central Region Iowa Nurse of the Year


Megan Berryhill, RN, ARNP, of Newton will be honored by colleagues of the Iowa Nurses Association Monday evening Oct. 18. She is being recognized for her ardent work and leadership on the 2011 health care policies at the Capitol. She advocated for independent practice of the Nurse Practitioner and advanced the understanding of the competence of the Nurse Practitioner. Berryhill provides for the mental health of patients in clinics as a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner employed by Iowa Health Des Moines. During the 2011 Legislative Session, Berryhill offered the perspective of a Nurse Practitioner while talking to legislators for the 2011 Iowa mental health legislation. She admits a vital interest in the mental health policies as an advocate for her clients.

More than 700 nursing professionals, including nursing students from various academic institutions, will attend the 107th annual Iowa Nurses Association Convention in Coralville, Oct.16 through Oct. 18. The convention theme is “Leading Nursing to All It Can Be.”

The program for convention was developed from the sentinel report “The Future of Nursing; Leading Change, Advancing Health,” released by the Institute of Medicine, October 2010. The changing health care environment depends on nurses to take leadership roles and chart the course for the future of health care through advanced nursing education, providing evidence-based care and advocacy. The affiliated Iowa Nurses Foundation offers continuing education programs relevant to current changes in nursing and environmental safety issues for patients and staff.

The Iowa Nurses Association is a professional nursing organization that promotes nursing throughout the state of Iowa, and advocates for the health and well-being of all people. The state organization holds its annual meeting in October to discuss nursing policy and recognize Iowa nurses and others who support nursing.