Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Twenty-one Mustangs earn all-district recognition

For two straight seasons, the Prairie City-Monroe football team dominated District 6 in Class 2A.

The Mustangs outscored their district foes 341-60 and the most points they allowed in a game was 14 twice. The second straight 7-0 district campaign resulted in 19 Mustangs getting honored with all-district recognition.

PCM earned 11 first-team honors, seven second-team selections and two honorable mention picks.

Junior Reed Worth was named the offensive MVP, junior Cole Dustin was the defensive MVP and head coach Greg Bonnett was the district coach of the year.

Nine of the 11 first-team selections were unanimous picks. That list includes Worth, Dustin, seniors Colton Warrick, Caden Lewis, Jacob Ponder and Noah Anderson and juniors Wes Cummings, Preston Van Wyk and Nick Dredge.

The other two first-team selections were juniors Brayton Van Dyke and Jarron Trausch.

Seven Mustangs were second-team picks. Those players include senior Jacob Woody, juniors Isaac Telfer, Brycen Rogers, Nick Buswell and Andrew Van Ryswyk, sophomore Jace Smith and freshman Grayson Strum.

The two honorable mention selections were senior punter Dayton Boell and senior kicker Brady Fagen.

The Mustangs earned all-district honors despite playing in only six district games. They were awarded a win by forfeit in the final regular season game of the season.

Worth was the offensive MVP as PCM’s quarterback. In district games, Worth threw for 1,150 yards, completed 72 percent of his passes (49-of-68) and threw 20 touchdowns to just one pick.

Worth also rushed for 380 yards and five touchdowns. He averaged 20 yards per carry.

Dustin was the defensive MVP after claiming 22 tackles, eight tackles for loss and one sack as a starting defensive end. He had 18 solo tackles.

Cummings was a first-team running back after rushing for 686 yards and nine touchdowns in district games. He averaged 12.3 yards per carry. Cummings also caught eight passes for 187 yards and two scores.

Van Wyk and Van Dyke were both first-team selections at wide receiver.

Van Wyk hauled in 13 passes for 370 yards and seven touchdowns. He averaged 28.5 yards per catch in district play. Van Dyke had 10 catches for 218 yards and four TDs.

All five PCM starting offensive linemen made an all-district team. The offense was guided up front by first-team selections Warrick and Lewis and second-team picks Van Ryswyk, Smith and Strum.

Joining Dustin as a first-team defensive linemen was Ponder. He had 17 tackles, two tackles for loss, one sack, one fumble recovery and 10 solo tackles.

The Mustangs’ lone first-team linebacker was Trausch, who finished with 27 1/2 tackles, seven tackles for loss and one sack. Trausch had 23 solo tackles.

Anderson and Dredge were both first-team selections as defensive backs. Anderson had 5 1/2 tackles and five solo tackles, while Dredge finished with 13 1/2 tackles, one tackle for loss and 12 solo tackles. Dredge also had four interceptions and a defensive touchdown.

Telfer earned second-team honors as a tight end. He hauled in nine catches for 109 yards and three TDs in district play.

Woody was a second-team selection on the defensive line after recording seven tackles, four solo tackles, one tackle for loss and one fumble recovery.

Rogers was a second-team linebacker after collecting 16 1/2 tackles, 14 solo tackles, one tackle for loss and three fumble recoveries.

Buswell was a second-team defensive back. He finished with 11 tackles, nine solo tackles and one tackle for loss.

Fagen was 35-of-43 in PATs as the Mustangs’ kicker. He had 19 touchbacks on kickoffs. Boell punted nine times for a 41.7 yards per punt average. Boell’s longest punt was a school-record 63 yards.

Class 2A District 6

Final Standings

PCM 7-0

Centerville 6-1

Chariton 4-3

Central Lee 4-3

Albia 3-4

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont 3-4

Davis County 1-6

Clarke 0-7

Individual Awards

Most Valuable Offensive Player

Reed Worth, junior, PCM

Most Valuable Defensive Player

Cole Dustin, junior, PCM

Coach of the Year

Greg Bonnett, PCM

Most Outstanding Punter

Garl Norman, junior, Davis County

Most Outstanding Kicker

Royce Stuart, junior, Chariton

Most Outstanding Returner

Tiger Terpstra, senior, Centerville

First Team



* Reed Worth, junior, PCM

Running Backs

* Wes Cummings, junior, PCM

* Adam Rooney, senior, Central Lee

Dylin Harberts, senior, Chariton

Tyler Hopp, junior, Central Lee


* Preston Van Wyk, junior, PCM

* Zac Kratofil, senior, Centerville

Brayton Van Dyke, junior, PCM

Wyatt Klyn, junior, EBF

Offensive Line

* Colton Warrick, senior, PCM

* Caden Lewis, senior, PCM

* Riley Reece, sophomore, Chariton

* Kacey Davis, senior, Central Lee

Trent Garver, senior, Albia

Cameron Fry, senior, Centerville

Peyton Moore, senior, Centerville


Defensive Line

* Cole Dustin, junior, PCM

* Jacob Ponder, senior, PCM

* Logan Stickler, senior, Centerville

* Gunther Johnson, junior, Central Lee

* Nick Wood, sophomore, Chariton


* Jared Brisby, senior, Central Lee

Jarron Trausch, junior, PCM

McCain Oden, sophomore, Centerville

Dylan Cain, sophomore, Chariton

J.R. Zeitler, senior, Davis County

Ryan Adams, junior, EBF

Defensive Backs

* Noah Anderson, senior, PCM

* Nick Dredge, junior, PCM

* Jaxson Ocker, junior, Centerville

Tiger Terpstra, senior, Centerville

Isaiah Tuigong, senior, Chariton

Second Team



Brady Kauzlarich, freshman, Centerville

Running Backs

Dakota Boyer, senior, EBF

Hunter Neer, senior, Chariton

Jonathan Bair, senior, Clarke

Collen Allen, senior, Davis County


Isaac Telfer, junior, PCM

Tyler Stringfellow, senior, Albia

Taylor McGrann, senior, Centerville

Jackson Fisher, senior, Chariton

Offensive Line

Jace Smith, sophomore, PCM

Andrew Van Ryswyk, junior, PCM

Greyson Strum, freshman, PCM

Cade Moore, sophomore, Centerville

Taylor Shandy, senior, Chariton

Logan Hale, junior, Davis County

Hunter Slack, senior, EBF


Defensive Line

Jacob Woody, senior, PCM

Trenton Bogle, senior, Centerville

Hunter Koehn, sophomore, Chariton

Jake Smith, freshman, Clarke

Gabe Larkin, junior, EBF


Brycen Rogers, junior, PCM

Stephen Wardlow, senior, Centerville

Jeffrey Tratchel, senior, Albia

Amani Fry, junior, Clarke

Defensive Back

Nick Buswell, junior, PCM

Brandon Persons, senior, Albia

Keagan Ewoldt, senior, Centerville

Riley Domina, junior, Clarke

Reegan Warning, junior, Davis County

Honorable Mention


Brady Fagen, senior, PCM


Dayton Boell, senior, PCM

Loading more