42°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

OPEN to meet Wednesday morning

Published: Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2017 10:05 a.m. CST • Updated: Thursday, Oct. 2, 2017 12:04 p.m. CST

The Annual Meeting of Newton’s sister city group, Organization Promoting Everlasting Neighbors (OPEN) will be held at 7 a.m. Wednesday at the EJH Beard Administration Center, 1302 First Ave. W. As required by our by-laws, this is an official invitation to the meeting. Newton has sister cities in Smila, Ukraine and WuChi area, Taiwan.

The board’s regular monthly meeting will follow the annual meeting.

On behalf of OPEN’s Board of Directors, we thank Newton and all of Jasper County for the strong support we have experienced for 26 years. We want to thank the many citizens that have been involved with our student program. Forty-two students from our sister city areas in Ukraine and Taiwan have spent an academic year at Newton High School and several Jasper County high schools and all have been privileged to have had host families that unselfishly shared their families’ lives with them. Alona Kosenko from Smila, Ukraine is being hosted by the Nate and Marci Clark family. Without this kind of support, our student program would not be possible. We are very appreciative of the dedication of the 42 students’ host families and we are very proud to have offered the students the opportunity to spend academic time in our area schools.

There are several ways our organization tries to communicate with those of you that are interested in sister city activities. One way is through articles and photos in the Newton Daily News. We also have Facebook, OPEN Newton Iowa, where we try to update FB users on current activities. Another is our website, www.opennewton.org.

Our annual Pasta Supper will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. Thursday at the First Lutheran Church, 309 E. Third St. N., free-will donation.

Our sincere thanks to all who have supported this annual endeavor. We are very grateful for the support.

Our Board of Directors meet monthly to conduct the necessary business for our organization. Current Board members are: Sheri Benson, Bob Callaghan, Warren Erickson, Jane Johnson, Debbie Knopf, Mary Beth Lawson, John McNeer, Sveta Miller, Jeff Price, David Raymond, Tori Reynolds and Joan Tyler.

Jane Ann Cotton, Chair


More News