Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

NHS Hall of Fame Class of 2016 announced

Two Ph.Ds. among this year's six honorees

The names of the six people who will be inducted into the Newton High School Hall of Fame this year were announced Thursday.

Treye Jackson, Dr. Andrew Hershey, M.D., David Jones, Ph.D., Cindy Cohn, J.D. and the late Lyle D. Goodhue, Ph.D. and Frank “Bucky” O’Connor make up the 2016 class. It’s the third year for the Hall of Fame, which includes contributors from athletics, academics and the community.

The Hall of Fame’s third induction class will be honored at the All-Classes Brunch on June 11 as part of Alumni Weekend.

Jackson, class of 1981, is one of Newton High School’s most celebrated athletes, helping lead the 1980 Cardinal football team to a state title and becoming one of the first Iowan to win the 100-, 200-, and 400-meter titles at the state track meet on the same day when he did it in 1981. He went on to play football briefly for the Iowa Hawkeyes and he is a member of the Iowa Track Coaches Hall of Fame.

Cohn, a 1982 NHS graduate, is president and executive director of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, devoted to defending individual rights in the digital world. She was recognized among the 100 most influential lawyers in America by the National Law Journal.

Goodhue, a member of the graduating class of 1924, earned a Ph.D. in plant chemistry from Iowa State University. During a long and distinguished career as both scientist and inventor, Dr. Goodhue was granted 105 United States and 25 foreign patents.

Hershey, class of 1981, is director of the Division of Neurology at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. He has authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and is recognized as a world authority in the area of pediatric neurology.

Jones, class of 1956, earned a Ph.D. in economics from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. His career included the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, the Irving Trust Co., and Aubrey Lanston & Company. Dr. Jones has authored five books on monetary economics.

O’Connor, class of 1932, led the Iowa Hawkeyes during the most successful era in Hawkeye men’s basketball history. He is a member of the Des Moines Register’s Iowa Sports Hall of Fame.

The NHS Hall of Fame honors individuals and organizations that have made exceptional achievements in their field, significant contributions to Newton High School, or unique contributions to their communities at the local, state, national or international levels.

Nominees are garnered from the public via a nomination form. Honorees are reviewed and selections are made once each year by a committee.

All Cardinal alumni and the entire Newton community are invited to attend the June 11 brunch. Tickets are available online at

Loading more