Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Terry Brown scores first win of season Friday at Marshalltown

MARSHALLTOWN — Race fans had quite a show at Marshalltown Speedway Friday night. Not only did the stock car drivers continue a tradition of quality racing on the dirt track, the Quads put on an exhibition race and the Lawnmowers from Rivers Bottoms Raceway in Carlisle provided entertainment between heat races and feature races.

George Hood won the Quads exhibition race, which gave fans a taste of next week’s real deal at Marshalltown. In the lawnmower races, Bill Neasham of Newton picked up the win in the stock class and Matt Madlih of Newton took the win in the Outlaw Lawnmowers.

Feature race victories on A Night with the Shriners went to Terry Brown in the Mod Lites, Austin Luellen in the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Jenae Gustin in the Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods, Donavon Smith in the IMCA Stock Cars and Ronn Lauritzen in the IMCA Modifieds.

Brown claimed his first win in the Mod Lites division at Marshalltown holding off a challenge by D.J. Schmalzried. Schmalzried, Charlie Brown, Mike Morrill and Josh May rounded out the top five. 

Luellen led wire-to-wire in the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature. Eric Stanton recovered from an early spinout to finish second. John Watson was third, Jennifer Hulin was fourth and Garrett Eilander was fifth.  

Gustin also went to the lead quick and stayed there to win the 18-lap Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature. She held off challenges from Clinty Luellen and Taylor Musselman to take the win. Sam Wieben was fourth and Matt Lettow was fifth.

Smith, who went into Friday’s 18-lap feature as the IMCA Stock Car points leader, worked up to the lead by Lap 5. Smith ran in front the rest of the way in the only caution-free race of the night. Steve Meyer, Michael Jaennette, Robert Stofer and Trent Murphy finished second through fifth, respectively.  

Lauritzen wasn’t deterred by a couple of cautions after taking the lead on Lap 8 of the 2-lap IMCA Modifieds feature. Kyle Brown ran second followed across the finish line by Scott Simatovich, Jake Strayer and Richie Gustin. Drivers ran on the new safety tires during the race.

Friday night will be J & V Napa Auto Parts of Tama Night at the races. Quads will be back to race at intermission. Hot Laps start at 6:45 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

Marshalltown Speedway Results

An Evening With the Shriners

Aug. 1, 2014 

IMCA Modifieds

Feature: 1. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 2. 21K Kyle Brown (Kellogg); 3. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); 4. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton); 5. 19G Richie Gustin Jr. (Gilman); 6. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 7. 64ZC Brandon Leeman (Rolnand); 8. 17R Derek Reimer (St. Anthony); 9. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 10. 12X Trent Jackson (Marshalltown); 11. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 12. K1 Kyle Krampe (Baxter); 13. 87 Joel Bushore (Boone); 14. 92 Tyler Droste (Waterloo); 15. 21 David Brown (Kellogg); 16. 69X Jon Snyder (Ames); 17. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 18. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 19. 2Z Zack Rawlins (Newton); 20. 1BC Tony Cox (Boone)

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature: 1. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 2. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 3. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 4. 50 Robert Stofer (Jefferson); 5. 25 Trent Murphy (Scranton); 6. 04 Don Vis (Marshalltown); 7. 2 Dave Atcher (Marshalltown); 8. 43X Nate Thelen (Newton); 9. 22K Kevin Rose (Waterloo); 10. 3 Sccoter Dulin (Cedar Rapids); 11. 59 Tracy Gienger (Newton); 12. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 13. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 14. 196 Chuck Davis (Conrad); 15. 199 Nick Thelen (Kellogg): 16. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 17. 7 Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 18. 042 Doug Russell (Conrad)

IMCA Northern SportMods

Feature: 1. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 2. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 3. 13T Taylor Musselman (Norwalk); 4. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 5. 21L Matt Lettow (Roland); 6. 69JR Johnathan Logue (Boone); 7. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 8. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 9. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 10. 80 Duane Van Deest (Grundy Center); 11. 01 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 12. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kelloogg); 13. 57R Ryan King (Montour); 14. 86 Cory Rose (Boone); 15. 98 Bill Hildreth (Marshalltown); 16. 26B Bryan Johnson (Roland); 17. 3S Adam Shelman (Ames): 18. 99B Jim Bonschmit (Clemons): 19. 6T Siraj Thomason (Montezuma); 20. 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); 21. 7R Ryan Ashton (Beaman); 22. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 23. 55V Jared VandeWalle (LeGrand); 24. 27D Aron Duvall (Trenton, MO); 25. 9 Scott Williams (Atkins)

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature: 1. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 2. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 3. 4W John Watson (Des Moines); 4. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 5. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 6. 14T Mitchell Thomas (Marshalltown); 7. 42T Tyson Overton (Carlisle); 8. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 9. 4P Matt Pohlman (Keystone); 10. 17 Andy Peck (Newton); 11. 81M Travis Merical (Marshalltown); 12. 85M Dillon Millon (Marshalltown); 13. 14X Jamie Riemenschnieder; 14. 3X Steve Fricke (Marshalltown); 15. 5H Andy Hick (Adel); 16. 18D Kevin Deery (Boone)

Mod Lites

Feature: 1. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 2. 01 DJ Schlmalzried (Nevada); 3. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 4. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 5. 99 Josh May (DeSoto); 6. 5J Jimmy May (DeSoto); 7. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 8. 89 Travis Stensland (Nevada); 9. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 10. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 11. 94 Dustin Marshall (Prairie City); 12. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 13. 12 Amber Coffman (Grimes); 14. 69 Josh Bryan; 19. 7 Erin Turner (Newton); 20. 4 Travis Brandt.

Loading more