Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Jaennette wins at Marshalltown Speedway

Gustin cashes in big in IMCA Modifieds

MARSHALLTOWN — Newton’s Michael Jaennette captured his third win at Marshalltown Speedway Friday night. Jaennette had to stave off challenges by Donavon Smith, Trent Murphy and Jason Minnehan the final eight laps of the IMCA Stock Cars 18-lap feature race.

Jaennette went to the front of the field on Lap 2. It appeared he would cruise to victory, but two late caution flags bunched the field again. Murphy edged out Smith for second. Minnehan was fourth and Steve Meyer was fifth.

Marshalltown Speedway put up extra money in the IMCA Modifieds for Friday night’s feature race. It was a $1,000-to-win, 25-lap feature for the modifiers. The night was sponsored by KMJ Performance of Story City plus the Marshalltown police were on hand displaying some of their police cars.

Lap traffic played a big part in the  IMCA Modifieds feature race. Eric Elliott was the first leader of the race, but on a restart Adam Larson went to the front. Luke Wanninger and Richie Gustin chased down Larson when the leaders experienced lap traffic.

Gustin pulled a move to claim the lead on Lap 17. He stayed out front to win the race and the extra cash bonus. Larson, Wanninger, Ronn Lauritzen and Hunter Marriott round out the top five.

Jimmy May worked his way through the field in the Mod Lites 15-lap feature race and grabbed the lead from Joe Glick. May denied Glick, who had led from Lap 5 until the final two laps, his first win at Marshalltown. Terry Brown ran third followed by Andy Hennigar and Travis Brandt.

The 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature saw lead changes in the early laps. Eric Stanton pushed past Eric Larson on Lap 5 and never looked back, banking his fourth win of the season. Larson, John Watson, Austin Luellen and Garrett Eilander rounded out the top five. 

The Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18-lap feature was caution filled. Jared Van Deest maneuver through all the cautions to win his second race in a row at Marshalltown. It was his third win of the season. Clint Luellen worked his way back through the field after the early caution to finish second. Tracy Wassenberg was third, Travis Peterson moved up four spots to finish fourth and Chad Shaw from Missouri was fifth.

Friday night will be Central Iowa Snowmobile Club Night plus after the feature races are completed there will be spectator eliminators. Hot laps start at 6:45 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

Marshalltown Speedway Results

KMJ Performance / Marshalltown Police Night 

July 18, 2014

IMCA Modifieds

Feature: 1. 19G Richie Gustin Jr (Gilman); 2L Adam Larson (Ankeny); 3. 20 Luke Wanninger (Minburn); 4. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 5. 62 Hunter Marriott (Brookfield, MO); 6. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 7. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 8. 50C Colton Osborn (Cozad, NE); 9. 7 Clint Homan (Bellevue, NE); 10. 21K Kyle Brown (Kellogg); 11. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 12. 5D Devon Havlik (Iowa Falls); 13. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton); 14. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); 15. 775S Eric Scribner (Kiel, WI); 16. 2Z Zack Rawlins (Kellogg); 17. 17R Derek Reimer (St. Anthony); 18. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 19. 3W Chris Webb (McCallsburg); 20. 87 Joel Bushore (Boone); 21. 64ZC Brandon Leeman (Roland); 22. 21T Josh Blumer (Mayville, KS); 23. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 24. 21 David Brown (Kellogg); 25. K1 Kyle Krampe (Baxter); 26. 8 Tony Snyder (Redlyn)

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature: 1. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 2. 25 Trent Murphy (Scranton); 3. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 4. 7 Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 5. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 6. 59 Tracy Gienger (Newton); 7. 2 Dave Atcher (Marshalltown); 8. 22D Jared Daggett (Marshalltown); 9. 87A Aaron Matthias (Fairbank); 10. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 11. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 12. 43X Nate Thelen (Newton); 13. 042 Doug Russell (Conrad); 14. 54 Robbie Merkle (Des Moines); 15. 3 Scooter Dulin (Cedar Rapids); 16. 35K Terry Klocke (Carroll); 17. 196 Chuck Davis (Conrad); 18. 04 Don Vis (Marshalltown); 19. 02 Adam Klocke (Carroll); 20. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton)

IMCA Northern SportMods

Feature: 1. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 2. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 3. 30 Tracy Wassenberg (Shawano, WI); 4. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 5. 27S Chad Shaw (Trimble, MO); 6. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 7. 82 Jake McBirnie (Boone); 8. 98 Bill Hildreth (Marshalltown); 9. 7SR Shawn Ritter (Keystone); 10. 27D Arron Duvall (Trenton, MO); 11. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad);. 12. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 13. 57R Ryan King (Montour); 14. 29B Ben Wilson (Nevada); 15. 25R Chad Ryerson (Wellsburg); 16. 6T Siraj Thomason (Montezuma); 17. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg); 18. 99B Jim BonSchmit (Clemons); 19. 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); 20. 30X DJ Schmalzried (Nevada); 21. 9 Scott Williams (Atkins); 22. 63 Matt McCahen (Waterloo); 23. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown)

IMCA Hobby Stocks 

Feature: 1. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 2. 20E Eric Larson (Holland); 3. 4W John Watson (Des Moines); 4. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 5. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 6. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 7. 19D Dustin Elliott (Marshalltown); 8. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 9. 14T Mitchell Thomas (Marshalltown); 10. 29 Jake Nelson (Newton); 11. 3X Steve Fricke (Marshalltown); 12. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 13. 4P Matt Pohlman (Keystone); 14. 89 John Housley (Des Moines); 15. 2 Nick Welch (Cedar Falls); 16. 17 Andy Peck (Newton); 17. 87M Milo Matthias (CoCo, FL); 18. 50 Bryce Sommerfeld (Fort Dodge); 19. 81M Travis Merical (Marshalltown); 20. 85M Dillon Million (Marshalltown)

Mod Lites 

Feature: 1. 5J Jimmy May (DeSoto); 2. 3G Joe Glick (Des Moines); 3. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 4. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 5. 4 Travis Brandt (Des Moines); 6. 01 DJ Schmalzried (Nevada); 7. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 8. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 9. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 10. 89 Travis Stensland (Nevada); 11. 64 Randy Bryan (Ames); 12. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 13. 12 Amber Coffman (Nevada); 14. 94 Dustin Marshall (Prairie City); 15. 17S Chris Weir (Nevada); 16. 57 Tim Hennigar (Clarion); 17. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada)

Loading more