57°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Six Jasper County students recognized for academic excellence

Published: Friday, July 11, 2014 10:50 a.m. CST

At the Eleventh Annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines, six Jasper County high school seniors were recognized for their academic excellence by Governor Terry Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds.

The six students recognized were: Macy Lanser, Lynnville-Sully High School; Emily Forsyth, Newton Senior High School; Madison Bagnall, Newton Senior High School; Jena Teed, Colfax-Mingo High School; Shelby Stafford, PCM High School; and Jessica Hiney, Baxter High School. The statewide program, sponsored by the Iowa Governor’s Office, Iowa High School Athletic Association and its title sponsor the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, honored 435 high school seniors from throughout Iowa.

“Iowa Farm Bureau members believe that by investing in our youth and communities, we’re investing in the future of Iowa,” said IFBF President Craig Hill. “We are so proud to honor such exceptional students and proud to be a leading contributor to educational programs and annual scholarships for our youth.” 

Of those recognized, 99% also participate in extra-curricular school activities, with over 80% participating in at least one interscholastic sport. 

“The values learned through academic success, like those learned from participation in education-based activities, help develop outstanding leaders for today and the future,” IHSAA Executive Director Rick Wulkow said. “The partnership between the IHSAA and the Iowa Farm Bureau, along with the great cooperation of the Governor’s Office has made this prestigious event possible.”

More News