Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Luellen brothers double up at Marshalltown Speedway

MARSHALLTOWN — Celebrating 50 years of racing at Marshalltown Speedway this season, the drivers continue to give fans great racing action on the dirt track each week.

Last Friday night along with the regular program, Traxxas Torc Off Road Series driver Cam Reimers from Ogden put on an expedition for the fans.

Austin Luellen captured the win in the IMCA hobby stock feature. He was followed into victory lane by his brother, Clint Luellen, who won the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMods feature.

In the hobby stock race, Austin Luellen worked his way to the lead by Lap 3. Four laps later he got a good restart following a caution and cruised to victory. Garrett Eilander came across in second place followed by John Watson, Dustin Elliott and Eric Larson. Rookie Andy Hick went into a spin in front of the field in Turn 2 on the opening lap of the race for the first caution of the race.

Clint Luellen got into a battle for the lead with Jenae Gustin who had the lead from Lap 4 to Lap 8, following a caution flag on Lap 11 in the Northern SportMods.  Luellen edged past Gustin to take lead on Lap 13 and take win three at Motown. Gustin, Andy Tiernan, Brett Lowry and Taylor Musselman round out the top five. 

Adam Gates grabbed the lead in the second lap of the IMCA sport compact feature and took the checkered flag. David Moorman ran second in the eight-lap race. Aaron Miller in third and Gill in fourth.

In the mod lites 15-lap feature, Jimmy May got to the lead on the third lap and never gave it up. May saw his son, Josh May, experience troubles on Lap 5, forcing the caution to come out. May did not let that get to him. The final race caution came out on Lap 12 when Charlie and Terry Brown make contact in Turn 2 that ended Charlie’s night. Jimmy May went on to take the win over Andy Hennigar, Terry Brown, Tim Hennigar and Dusty Masolini. 

The first three laps of the IMCA stock car 18-lap feature saw three different leaders — Dave Atcher, Robbie Merkle and Michael Jaennette. Jaennette led until the caution came out on the fifth lap, when Jeff Wollam and Paul Shepherd spun in Turn 2.  

On the restart, Jaennette experienced issues forcing him to the infield on Lap 7, when Donavon Smith took over the lead. Smith pulled away until he caught lap traffic which allowed Trent Murphy to chase him down on lap 11. Smith was able to get a great restart on the final restart on the next lap to take the win. Murphy came home second, Justin Temeyer finished third, Steve Meyer was fourth and Atcher was fifth.

Adam Larson claimed his second consecutive win in Marshalltown’s IMCA modifieds 20-lap feature race. Larson got to the front of the field on Lap 13, when front-running Jon Snyder experienced mechanical problems and pulled off the track. Ronn Lauritzen found his way to second. Richie Gustin, Racer Hulin and Kyle Brown rounded out the top five.

This Friday is Karl Performance Night at the races.  Hot Laps at 6:45 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

The Deery Brothers Summer Series Miller Lite 50 coming up on Tuesday June 24 or Fan Appreciation Night with fireworks on Friday July 4.

Marshalltown Speedway Results

State Center Night

June 6th, 2014

IMCA Modifieds

Feature: 1. 2L Adam Larson (Ankeny); 2. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 3. 19G Richie Gustin Jr. (Gilman); 4. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 5. 21K Kyle Brown (Kellogg); 6. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 7. 21 David Brown (Kellogg); 8. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); 9. 2Z Zack Rawlins (Newton); 10. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 11. 02A Coty Albers (Wellsburg); 12. 69X Jon Snyder (Ames); 13. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 14. K1 Kyle Krampe (Baxter); 15. 20 Luke Wanninger (Minburn); 16. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 17. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton)

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature: 1. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 2. 25 Trent Murphy (Scranton); 3. 56T Justin Temeyer (Independence); 4. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 5. 2 Dave Atcher (Marshalltown); 6. 19J Jay Schmidt (Tama); 7. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 8. 54 Robbie Merkle (Des Moines); 9. 22D Jared Daggett (Marshalltown); 10. 47 Scott Pippert (Elberon); 11. 4JR Russell Damme Jr. (Waterloo); 12. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 13. 31S Paul Shepherd (Marengo); 14. 43X Nate Thelen (Newton); 15. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 16. 21K JD Kennedy (Ackley); 17. 196 Chuck Davis (Conrad); 18. 199 Nick Thelen (Kellogg); 19. 6R Adam Rickett (Marshalltown); 20. 50 Robert Stofer (Jefferson); 21. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 22. 04 Don Vis (Marshalltown); 23. 042 Doug Russell (Conrad)

IMCA Northern SportMods

Feature: 1. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 2. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 3. 321 Andy Tiernan (Woodward); 4. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezeuma); 5. 13T Taylor Musselman (Norwalk); 6. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 7. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 8. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 9. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 10. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 11. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 12. 7R Ryan Ashton (Beaman); 13. 67X Brandon Williams (Des Moines); 14. CH19 Colby Heishman (Brooklyn); 15. 7SR Shawn Ritter (Keystone); 16. 22A Shawn Albers (Wellsburg); 17. 99B Jim Bonschmit (Clemons); 18. 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); 19. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg); 20. 57R Ryan King (Montour); 21. 11 Michael Strait (New Providence); 22. 6T Siraj Thomason (Montzeuma); 23. 19G Gatlin Leytham (Garwin); 24. 25R Chad Ryerson (Wellsburg); 25. 40S Shawn Simatovich (Gilman); 26. 22 Paul Siefken (Grundy Center)

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature: 1. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 2. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 3. 4W John Watson (Des Moines); 4. 19D Dustin Elliott (Marshalltown); 5. 20E Eric Larson (Holland); 6. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 7. 5H Andy Hick (Adel); 8. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 9. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 10. 88 Mike Leffler (Ankeny); 11. 7 Dustin Graham (Boone); 12. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 13. 17 Andy Peck (Newton); 14. 05 Jason Cox (Maxwell): 15. 7C Chad Larson (Brooklyn); 16. 55 Vince Buchholz (Waterloo); 17.42T Tyson Overton (Carlisle)

Mod Lites

Feature: 1.5J Jimmy May (De Soto); 2. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 3. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 4. 57 Tim Hennigar (Clarion); 5. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 6. 4 Travis Brandt (Des Moines); 7. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 8. 64 Randy Bryan (Ames); 9. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 10. 17S Chris Weir (Nevada); 11. 94 Dustin Marshall (Priarie City); 12. 12 Amber Coffman (Grimes); 13. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 14. 82 Charlie Brown (Newton); 15. 99 Josh May (De Soto); 16. 01 DJ Schmalzried (Colo)

IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature: 1. 007 Adam Gates (Marion); 2. 6M David Moorman (Beaman); 3. 01 Aaron Miller (Marshalltown); 4. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown)

Loading more