Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Gill wins opener on Cliff Chambers Memorial Night at Marshalltown

MARSHALLTOWN — It was back to racing at Marshalltown Speedway last Friday night after a rain out May 2.

It was UAW 893 Cliff Chambers Memorial Night. The night is in great honor of a pioneer of the speedway that we lost 25 years ago to cancer. 

John Gill started on the outside front row and he took advantage it. Gill led wire-to-wire in the IMCA sports compacts eight-lap feature race. David Moorman tried several times to pass Gill but had to settle for second. Aaron Miller ran third followed by Jacob Reiter in fourth and Jeremy Stone in fifth. 

Always on Cliff Chambers Memorial Night, the Nostalgia Cars pay a visit to the high-banked quarter mile track. They put on a show, racing cars from the 1950s and 1960s, and even rubbing fenders. 

Jim Anderson led the first six laps, but it was Roger Ceilsiski taking the lead away on Lap 7. Ceilsiski recorded the victory in his 1963 Chevy Nova SS. Anderson came home second, Pudge Grabill was third, Larry Knop was fourth and Scott Jorpeland was fifth.

Charlie Brown claimed the lead on the early restart in the 15-lap feature for Mod Lites. Brown was slowed a bit by lap traffic, but did not give up the lead, winning ahead of a hard-charging Andy Hennigar. Mike Morrill, Jimmy May and Travis Stensland rounded out the top five. 

A second caution flag in the first eight laps bunched up the field in the IMCA hobby stocks feature race. Austin Luellen had the lead and kept it on the restart, winning the 12-lap event as he held off runner-up John Watson. Garrett Eilander came home third, Eric Larson was in a close fourth and Eric Stanton in fifth. 

A post-race tech inspection changed the results in the IMCA sportsmods feature race. Carter VanDen Berg crossed the finish line first but was disqualifed in post-race tech inspection for his ignition box. That gave the win to Brett Lowry. It also moved up Jenae Gustin to second, Doug Smith to third, Clint Luellen to fourth and Ty Luellen to fifth. 

Steve Meyer grabbed the lead early in the always competitive IMCA stock cars class and appeared to be taking the win until the caution came out on Lap 11. This forced a seven lap dash to the finish. Meyer saw Jeff Wollam and Jay Schmidt on his back bumper.

Trent Murphy and Donavon Smith also right there and that is where the battle heated up. Smith made the right move with two laps to go, he took the top spot away to take the win. Meyer, Schmidt, Murphy and Wollam rounded out the top five. 

The IMCA modifieds feature was the final feature of the night and it was the rookie Eric Elliott jumping to the lead. Elliott held that lead until Lap 14 when Luke Wanninger snuck by him. Wanninger began to pull away but the caution came out forcing a four lap shootout. Wanninger got a great restart and went on to take the win over 10th place starter Joel Rust. Racer Hulin came across in third but was disqualifed in post race tech inspection. Ronn Lauritzen was credited with third place, Elliott with fourth place and Tyler Droste with fifth place.

This Friday night all Boy and Girl Scouts are asked to wear their uniforms as it is Scout Night. It is all Casey’s General Stores Night at the races. Hot Laps at 6:45 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Marshalltown Speedway Results

UAW 893 Cliff Chambers Memorial

May 9th, 2014

IMCA Modifieds

Feature: 1. 20 Luke Wanninger (Minburn); 2. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 3. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 4. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 5. 92 Tyler Droste (Waterloo); 6. 17R Derek Reimer (St. Anthony); 7. 64ZC Brandon Leeman (Roland); 8. 2L Adam Larson (Ankeny); 9. 21K Kyle Brown (Kellogg); 10. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 11. 2Z Zack Rawlins (Newton); 12. 87 Joel Bushore (Boone); 13. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 14. 21 David Brown (Kellogg); 15. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton); 16. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); DNS: 19 Jimmy Gustin (Marshalltown) DQ: 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel)

IMCA Stock Cars

Feature: 1. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 2. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 3. 19J Jay Schmidt (Tama); 4. 25 Trent Murphy (Scranton); 5. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 6. 3 Scott Dulin (Cedar Rapids); 7. 47 Scott Pippert (Elberon); 8. 4JR Russell Damme Jr. (Waterloo); 9. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 10. 43X Nate Thelen (Newton); 11. 042 Doug Russell (Conrad); 12. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 13. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 14. 196 Chuck Davis (Conrad); 15. 199 Nick Thelen (Kellogg); DNS : 21K JD Kennedy (Ackley)

IMCA SportMods

Feature: 1. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 2. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 3. 12 Doug Smith (Lake City); 4. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 5. 32L Ty Luellen (Minburn); 6. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 7. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 8. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 9. 19G Gatlin Leytham (Garwin); 10. 7SR Shawn Ritter (Keystone); 11. 64 Zach McKinnon (Atley, WI); 12. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 13. 25R Chad Ryerson (Wellsburg); 14. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 15. 57R Ryan King (Montour); 16. 22A Shawn Albers (Wellsburg); 17. 40S Shawn Simatovich (Gilman); 18. 26B Bryan Johnson (Roland); 19. 11 Michael Strait (New Providence); 20. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg); DNS: 7R Ryan Ashton (Beaman); DNS: 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); DNS: 406 Shawn Weatherly (Eldora); DQ: 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa)

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature: 1. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 2. 4W John Watson (Des Moines); 3. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 4. 20E Eric Larson (Holland); 5. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 6. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 7. 19D Dustin Elliott (Marshalltown); 8. 79S Jason See (Albia); 9. 42T Tyson Overton (Carlisle); 10. 14T Mitchell Thomas (Marshalltown); 11. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 12. 29 Jake Nelson (Newton); 13. 17Andy Peck (Newton); 14. 66P Troy Phillips (Prole); 15. 5H Andy Hick (Adel); 16. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 17. 4P Matt Pohlman (Keystone); 18. 7C Chad Larson (Brooklyn)

Mod Lites

Feature: 1. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada); 2. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 3. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 4. 5J Jimmy May (DeSoto); 5. 89 Travis Stensland (Nevada); 6. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 7. 4 Travis Brandt (Des Moines); 8. 64 Randy Bryan (Ames); 9. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 10. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 11. 13 Ryan McCrory (Pleasant Hill); 12. 46 Kevin Grisham (Ogden); 13. 12 Amber Coffman (Nevada); 14. 99 Josh May (DeSoto)

IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature: 1. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown); 2. 6M David Moorman (Beaman); 3. 01 Aaron Miller (Marshalltown); 4. 43 Jacob Reiter (Des Moines); 5. 33 Jeremy Stone (Drakesville)

Nostalgia Cars

Feature: 1. 39 Roger Ceiliski; 2. 10 Jim Anderson; 3. 5 Pudge Grabill; 4. 69 Larry Knop; 5. 3 Scott Jorpeland; 6. 33 Tyler Trappe; 7. 00 John Schroyer; DNS: 52 Chuck Anderson; DNS: *4 Ben Holt

Loading more