72°FOvercastFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Iowa’s Ramos wins NCAA wrestling championship

Published: Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:26 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:54 a.m. CDT

Iowa’s Tony Ramos defeated Wisconsin’s Tyler Graff 3-1 in overtime. After winning the 133-pound title, he sprinted into the stands to celebrate with the fans. Ramos’ brother had black baseball caps with “NCAA Champ” stitched in yellow onto the front ready for family, friends and coaches.

“I won the national title,” the charismatic Ramos said. “I got the job done. That’s all that matters right now.”

Everything went right for Penn State on Saturday night.

Ed Ruth and David Taylor, two of the school’s best all-time wrestlers, went out as individual champions, and the Nittany Lions won their fourth consecutive NCAA team title. Penn State held off Minnesota 109.5-104.

Oklahoma State placed third with 96.5 points, Iowa was fourth with 78.5 and Edinboro (Pa.) fifth with 62.

Ruth won his third national title, beating No. 1 seed Jimmy Sheptock of Maryland 7-2 in the 184-pound final. Sheptock, the No. 1 seed, entered with a 32-0 record.

Taylor, a four-time finalist, closed the night by defeating Oklahoma State’s Tyler Caldwell 6-0 in the 165 final to finish with his second national title and a 34-0 record.

Minnesota entered the evening session with a 104-101.5 lead over Penn State and both schools having two finalists. Penn State’s finalists both won and Minnesota’s lost.

Ruth’s victory in the second match of the evening gave Penn State a 105.5-104 lead.

Minnesota’s Tony Nelson, the top seed at 285, faced North Carolina State’s Nick Gwiazdowski in the final, and for a while, things looked good for the Golden Gophers. Nelson ended up with just one point for riding time, and Gwiazdowski won 4-2.

Minnesota could have put pressure on Penn State, but Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer beat Minnesota’s Dylan Ness in the 157 final, clinching the title for the Nittany Lions before Taylor’s match.