Newton Main Street Board of Directors announced; meeting set for Wednesday

Published: Monday, March 10, 2014 11:38 a.m. CST • Updated: Monday, March 10, 2014 11:43 a.m. CST

The Newton Main Street announced its Board of Directors for the 2014-15 year on Friday.

The board members were selected from various city and business leadership. This year’s board members are Sue Nolin, Greater Newton Area Chamber of Commerce; Lin Chape, City of Newton (designated by the mayor of Newton); Jeff Maki, SSMID Board (designated by the mayor); Rita Reinheimer, Newton Historic Preservation Committee (designated by the mayor); Danielle Rogers, Vernon Company and Young Professionals of Jasper County; Tracy Taylor, US Bank; Pat Wallace, Wallace Family Funeral Home and member of the Main Street Organizing Committee; Bruce Showalter, Re/Max Real Estate and member of the Main Street Organizing Committee; Graham Sullivan, Newton Community Education Foundation/ReNew Newton and member of the Main Street Organizing Committee; and Kathy Winn, In Remembrance and member of Main Street Organizing Committee.

A Main Street community meeting will be from 6 to 8:30 p.m. Wednesday at the DMACC Newton Campus. The meeting will give more information about the Main Street Program as well as facilitate the process and input of community members, business owners and downtown building owners to help create a vision for a “thriving Downtown District.”

For more information on the Main Street Iowa Program, visit and

All Newton community members wanting to attend the meeting are asked to RSVP at the Newton Chamber office by calling (641) 792-5545 or emailing