Partly Cloudy
11°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

DMACC Creative Writing Contest winners

Published: Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014 10:55 a.m. CST • Updated: Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014 10:57 a.m. CST

Laura Runyan of Ames received a $1,000 Des Moines Area Community College Foundation Scholarship for taking first place in the annual DMACC District-wide Creative Writing Contest. Benjamin Rittgers of Ames received a $500 scholarship for his second place finish. 

Tony Guerra of Ankeny received a $100 poetry prize for first place; Brianna Brawley of Newton placed second and was awarded a $50 poetry prize; Nora Mandil of Windsor Heights received a $25 poetry prize for third.

Fiction prizes were awarded to Michael Rutledge of Des Moines for first place, $100; second-place $50 prize to Kevin Cook of Newton; and third-place $25 prize to Ann Voight of Des Moines.

The prizes were provided from the DMACC Foundation, the Ankeny Campus Student Activities Council and the Science and Humanities Department.

National video

Reader Poll

Should the speed limit on some Iowa highways be changed to 75 mph?