Partly Cloudy and Breezy
39°FPartly Cloudy and BreezyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Hawk wrestlers win four individual titles

Published: Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2013 11:08 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2013 11:12 a.m. CDT

MONTEZUMA — Lynnville-Sully’s Hawks reached the top of the podium four times at Saturday’s Montezuma Invitational wrestling tournament.

The Hawks took individual championships at 113 with Cole Nickell, 145 with Meliek Meyer, 160 with Caden Doll and at 170 with Noah Zylstra. Blake Wehrle went 3-1 on the day and was third in the 195-pound class.

Payton Scandridge placed fourth at 152 while Shannon Dunsbergen finished fifth in the 285-pound class. At 182, Jack Hardin placed sixth.

Lynnville-Sully hosts Belle Plaine, Sigourney and H-L-V Thursday. The Hawks go to the Tri-County Invitational this Saturday.

Lynnville-Sully at

Montezuma Invitational

113 — Cole Nickell —1st

Nickell pinned Travis Lewis (TCM) 3:09.

Nickell won by major dec. over Seth Webb (East Marshall/GMG) 17-9.

120 — Colton Roorda — DNP

Griffen McBride (Pleasantville) pinned Roorda 1:39.

Tyler Meyer (Tri-County/Montezuma) pinned Roorda 2:55.

132 — Caden Dunsbergen — DNP

Steven Slechta (Iowa Valley) won by dec. over Dunsbergen 10-4.

Scott Morrison (Gladbrook-Reinbeck/NT) pinned Dunsbergen 2:34.

138 — Kyle Kramer — DNP

Drake Healey (Iowa Valley) pinned Kramer 1:28.

Ryan Maschmann (Tri-County/Montezuma) pinned Kramer 3:17.

145 — Meliek Meyer — 1st

Meyer pinned Gage Simmons (North Mahaska) 2:20.

Meyer pinned Drew Schossow (East Marshall/GMG) 2:26.

Meyer pinned Alex Yedlik (Lone Tree) 5:46.

152 — Payton Scandridge — 4th

Scandridge pinned Dylan Healey (Iowa Valley) 2:55.

Devin Yilek (East Marshall/GMG) pinned Scandridge 0:51.

Scandridge won by dec. over Huston Danker (Gladbrook-Reinbeck/NT) 7-5.

Dylan Healey (Iowa Valley) pinned Scandridge 1:36.

160 — Caden Doll — 1st

Doll pinned Jayson Krakow (Iowa Valley) 0:48.

Doll won by tech fall over Nick Long (East Marshall/GMG) 2:00 16-1.

170 — Noah Zylstra — 1st

Zylstra won by major dec. over Tyler Dietze (Iowa Valley) 12-0.

Zylstra pinned Parker Brown (Gladbrook-Reinbeck/NT) 1:44.

Zylstra pinned Ethan Cline (Grinnell) 1:18.

182 — Jack Hardin — 6th

Jacob Weber (Tri-County/Montezuma) pinned Hardin 4:25.

Ashton Messer (Pella) pinned Hardin 2:00.

Jacob Weber (Tri-County/Montezuma) pinned Hardin 2:40.

195 — Blake Wehrle — 3rd

Wehrle pinned Jason Brau (Grinnell) 3:02.

Ty Robertson (Lone Tree) pinned Wehrle 1:37.

Wehrle pinned Keegan Poole (Pella) 3:30.

Wehrle pinned Carter Young (Iowa Valley) 1:05.

285 — Shannon Dunsbergen — 5th

Tyler Mangold (Iowa Valley) pinned Dunsbergen 3:54.

Ethan Bair (Tri-County/Montezuma) won by dec. over Dunsbergen 7-1.

Dunsbergen pinned Mitch Heyveld (Grinnell) 2:54.