ISA board of directors elects 2014 officers

Published: Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013 11:08 a.m. CDT

ANKENY – Six farmers, including Rolland Schnell of Newton, were elected to leadership positions at the Sept. 5 meeting of the Iowa Soybean Association board of directors. 

Brian Kemp of Sibley took his seat as president, and Tom Oswald of Cleghorn was elected president-elect. Schnell was chosen as treasurer, and Wayne Fredericks of Osage was elected secretary. Jeff Jorgenson of Sidney also was elected to the executive committee.

In addition, the directors discussed a number of issues concerning soybean farmers including the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy, consumer outreach efforts, new and continuing crop research, sustainability programs and more during the meeting. 

To learn more about ISA, visit its website at

National video

Reader Poll

What are your thoughts on illegal drug use and distribution in Jasper County?
t's completely out of hand, more needs to be done about it
It's pretty bad, but no worse than anywhere else in Iowa
It's getting better than it was 10-15 years ago
It's not really a problem here