Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Utter captures late models’ KMJ Performance Miller Lite 50 at Marshalltown

MARSHALLTOWN — Making an inaugural visit to Mashalltown Speedway Tuesday night were the Corn Belt Class Late Models. Also on the card at the high-banked quarter mile track was the ever-so popular mod lites and IMCA sport mods.

The Corn Belt Clash Late Models saw Chad Simpson earn the pole for the feature by winning the QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six presented by Pro Power Racing Engines and Grove Automotive Dash. Jason Utter used lap traffic to help him chase down Chad Simpson, who had jump out to the early lead in the 50-lap race.

Utter gained the lead on Lap 38 and maintained it, despite two restarts after he had gotten past Chad Simpson. Utter led the final 12 laps for the victory and the $3,000 pay check. Chad Simpson ran second followed by Dave Eckrich, Chris Simpson and Justin Mitchell in the top five.

Andy Hennigar captured the win in the Toby K’s Hideaway mod lites feature. The lead changed hands a couple time from the early leader Jeff Stensland, who was driving D.J. Schmalzried’s car, to Jimmy May then Hennigar. Henniger was able to use a restart following Charlie Brown’s mishap on Lap 6 to chase down May. May ended up in second place and Dusty Masolini ran third. Stensland claimed fourth and Mike Morrill finished fifth.

In the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA sport mods feature it was Jenae Gustin grabbing the early lead but caution waved on lap six for debris in turn three. On the restart, Gustin had her hands full and lost the lead on Lap 8 to Doug Smith from Lake City. Smith held the lead through a pair of cautions on Lap 11 and 13. Smith took the win over Joel Rust, Curtis VanDerWal, Gustin and Carter VanDenBerg.

Its back to racing on friday night as it will be Marshalltown Snowmobile Club Night at the R=races. Grandstands are $9 for adults, children 11 and under are $2. Hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.

Marshalltown Speedway Results

Aug. 13, 2013

Corn Belt Clash Late Models

Feature: 1. 31 Jason Utter (Columbus Junction); 2. 25 Chad Simpson (Mt. Vernon); 3. 58 Dave Eckrich (Oxford); 4. 32 Chris Simpson (Oxford); 5. 28X Justin Mitchell (Cedar Rapids); 6. 32J Jason Jaggers (Wyanet, IL); 7. 56 Andy Eckrich (Iowa City); 8. 10 Pete Parker (Kauteauna, WI); 9. 99D Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown); 10. 20 Jake Meier (Tipton); 11. 45 Curt Martin (Independence); 12. 50 Denny Eckrich (Oxford); 13. 78 Rick Wendling (Hazelton); 14. 15C Curt Schroeder (Ames); 15. 9H Bobby Hansen (Center Point); 16. 5M Mike Fryer (Freeport, IL); 17. 60K Jerry King (Waterloo); 18. 30D Spencer Diercks (Davenport); 19. 61 Jon Rogers (German Valley, IL); 20. 22M Charlie McKenna (Clear Lake); DNS/21. 51 Matt Furman (Columbus, OH)

Heat 1: 1. Denny Eckrich; 2. Jaggers; 3. Andy Eckrich; 4. Diercks; 5. Rogers; 6. Meier; 7. Schroeder

Heat 2: 1. Chris Simpson; 2. Utter; 3. Mitchell; 4. Dave Eckrich; 5. McKenna; 6. Fryer; 7. Wendling

Heat 3: 1. Chad Simpson; 2. Parker; 3. Martin; 4. DeFrance; 5. Hansen; 6. King; 7. Furman

Dash: 1. Chad Simpson; 2. Jaggers; 3. Utter; 4. Chris Simpson; 5. Denny Eckrich; 6. Parker

Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods

Feature: 1. 12 Doug Smith (Lake City); 2. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 3. 1 Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 4. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 5. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 6. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 7. S16 Kip Siems (Waterloo); 8. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 9. 05 Paul Nagle (Nevada); 10. 69JR Johnathan Logue (Boone); 11. 21L Matt Lettow (Roland); 12. CH19 Colby Heishman (Brooklyn); 13. 86U Rod McDonald (Manchester); 14. 44G Bradly Graham (Brooklyn); 15. 57R Ryan King (Marshalltown); 16. 57 Lynn Brockett (Ogden); 17. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 18. 8B Brad Iverson (Grinnell); 19. 24B Brandon Brinton (Nevada); DNS/20. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg)

Heat 1: 1. Gustin; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Iverson; 4. Lettow; 5. Duinink; 6. Siems; 7. McDonald

Heat 2: 1. Elliott; 2. Rust; 3. Smith; 4. Lowry; 5. Heishman; 6. Brockett; 7. Logue

Heat 3: 1. VanDenBerg; 2. Nagle; 3. Brinton; 4. King; 5. Rawlins; 6. Graham

Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lites

Feature: 1. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 2. 5J Jimmy May (DeSoto); 3. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 4. 01 Jeff Stensland (Nevada); 5. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 6. 46Z Bryan Zehm (Ames); 7. 64 Randy Bryan (Ames); 8. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 9. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada); 10. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 11. 14 Mike Thomas (Des Moines); 12. 99 Josh May (DeSoto); 13. 11 Mike Stoker (Des Moines)

Heat 1: 1. Zehm; 2. Bryan; 3. Masolini; 4. Josh May; 5. Jeff Stensland; 6. Stoker; 7. Thomas

Heat 2: 1. Brown; 2. Hennigar; 3. Morrill; 4. Jimmy May; 5. Kennedy; 6. Sorenson; 7. Travis Stensland

Loading more