Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Lauritzen Takes Emotional Win on KMJ Performance and Budweiser Night at MoTown

Mike Kennedy round out the top five.

Eric Larson went to the front of the field on the drop of the green in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stocks feature. Just after the completion of lap one the caution waved when Keith Miner came to a rest in turn four.

Larson got a great restart and began to pull away until lap traffic started to slow him down. Larson wasn’t to be denied as he went on to grab the win. Jennifer Hulin came home second, Scott Durlin was third, Eric Stanton was fourth and Gary Pfantz was fifth.

The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature saw three different leaders the first three laps in the 18-lapper. Bill Hildreth, Johnathan Logue and Joel Rust each led early. Rust pulled away then the caution waved twice with two laps to go.

Rust held off Ben Kates, Jenae Gustin and Eric Elliott to take the win. Ben Kates came home in the runner-up position for the second week in a row. Eric Elliott was third, Jenae Gustin was fourth and Jared Van Deest was fifth.

Jay Schmidt claimed the in the Amsoil IMCA Stock Car feature win in as many weeks. It didn’t come without a challenge from Steve Meyer and Damon Murty. Meyer and Murty only got within a few car lengths and weren’t able to get by Schmidt. Meyer finished second, Murty in third, Jeff Wollam was fourth and Eric Knutson in fifth.

Next week the speedway will have the Central Iowa Fair taking place but next friday will be Haverhill Social Club Night featuring Spectator Eliminators after the final feature. Grandstands are $9 for Adults, Children 11 and under is $2. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 1-515-432-4703.

Marshalltown Speedway Results July 5th , 2013

Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 87 Joel Bushore - 10C Cayden Carter - 10K Ronn Lauritzen Heat 2: 21K Kyle Brown - 8 Kyle Strickler - 69X Jon Snyder Heat 3: 20 Luke Wanninger - 47 Josh Truman - 505 Racer Hulin

Feature: 1. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 2. 69X Jon Snyder (Ames); 3. 20 Luke Wanninger (Minburn); 4. 87 Joel Bushore (Boone); 5. 2L Adam Larson (Ames); 6. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 7. 21 David Brown (Kellogg); 8. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 9. 01 Ed Thomas (Waterloo); 10. 20X Chad Louk (Jefferson); 11. 2Z Zach Rawlins (Kellogg); 12. 3W Chris Webb (McCallsburg); 13. 12 Andrew Kinser (State Center); 14. 8 Kyle Strickler (Mooresville, NC); 15. 21K Kyle Brown (Kellogg); 16. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); 17. 47 Josh Truman (Indianola)

Amsoil IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: 17R Derek Reimer - 59 Tracy Gienger - 12K Eric Knutson Heat 2: 19J Jay Schmidt - 99D Damon Murty - 3W Jeff Wollam

Feature: 1. 19J Jay Schmidt (Tama); 2. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 3. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 4. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 5. 12K Eric Knutson (Slater); 6. 2 Dave Atcher (Marshalltown); 7. 17R Derek Reimer (Marshalltown); 8. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); 9. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 10. 76 Norman Belew (Granger); 11. 6R Adam Rickett (Marshalltown); 12. 43 Nate Thelen (Newton); 13. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 14. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 15. 59 Tracy Gienger (Newton); DNS: 199 Nick Thelen (Kellogg)

Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods

Heat 1: 9E Eric Elliott - 2G Geoff Olson - 98 Bill Hildreth
Heat 2: 23K Ben Kates - 25R Chad Ryerson - 25 Travis Peterson Heat 3: 69JR Johnathan Logue - 26J Joel Rust - 3L Clint Luellen

Feature: 1. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 2. 23K Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS); 3. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 4. 19J Jenae Gustin (Marshalltown); 5. 80J Jared Van Deest (Grundy Center); 6. 2G Geoff Olson (Sioux City); 7. 67X Brandon Williams (Des Moines); 8. 98 Bill Hildreth (Marshalltown); 9. 33R D.J. Robinson (Ankeny); 10. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 11. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 12. 22A Shawn Albers (Wellsburg); 13. 40S Shawn Simatovich (Gilman); 14. 7V Jesse VanderWal (McCallsburg); 15. 57R Ryan King (Marshalltown); 16. 25R Chad Ryerson (Wellsburg); 17. 69JR Johnathan Logue (Boone); 18. 8B Brad Iverson (Grinnell); 19. 3L Clint Luellen (Minburn); 20. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg); DNS: 23 Mark Jones (Kansas City, KS)

Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 07 Jacob Keiser - 3A Clint Luellen - 83 Eugene Nicklas Heat 2: 7B Eric Stanton - 82 Jennifer Hulin - 3X Scott Durlin Heat 3: 20E Eric Larson - 19 Bill Bonnett - 26 Brice Udelhoven

Feature: 1.20E Eric Larson (Holland); 2. 82 Jennifer Hulin (Marshalltown); 3. 3X Scott Durlin (State Center); 4. 7B Eric Stanton (Hartford); 5. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 6. 26 Brice Udelhoven (Newton); 7. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 8. 07 Jacob Keiser (Marengo); 9. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 10. 23G Dustin Tapp (Nevada); 11. 3A Austin Luellen (Minburn); 12. 05 Jason Cox (Nevada); 13. 83 Eugene Nicklas (Grinnell); 14. 37D Shannon Deppe (Grinnell); 15. 88 CJ Dall (Marshalltown); 16. 17 Andy Peck (Newton); 17. 55 Keith Miner (Granger)

Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lites

Heat 1: 99 Josh May - 8 Dusty Masolini - 82 Charlie Brown
Heat 2: 66F Eric Hendrickson - 15 Andy Hennigar- 6 Mike Morrill

Feature: 1. 15 Andy Hennigar (Ankeny); 2. 99 Josh May (De Soto); 3. 66F Eric Hendrickson (Ankeny); 4. 8 Dusty Masolin (Des Moines); 5. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 6. 6 Mike Morrill (Altoona); 7. 64 Randy Bryan (Ames); 8. 28 Terry Brown (Nevada); 9. 4L Larry Sorenson (Ames); 10. 6X Dana Chittenden (Roanoke, TX); 11. 5J Jimmy May (De Soto); 12. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada)

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat : 02 John Gill - 2 Merv Chandler - 6M David Moorman

Feature: 1. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana); 2. 6M David Moorman (Beaman); 3. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown); 4. 7C Chad Larson (Brooklyn); 5. 10 Danny Sassman Jr. (Fort Dodge); 6. 49 Joe Alday (Marshalltown)

Loading more