42°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Newton Community Theatre to host fundraiser Saturday

Performance of ‘Lone Star’ will fund trip to competition in Fargo, N.D.

Published: Friday, April 19, 2013 11:43 a.m. CST • Updated: Friday, April 19, 2013 12:01 p.m. CST
(Submitted Photo)
Scott Schaeffer, Lonnie Appleby and John Dougan star in "Lone Star."

The cast and crew of the award-winning Newton Community Theatre production of “Lone Star” will leave for the regional competition in Fargo, N.D., late next week.

To defray some of the cost of the trip, the ensemble will put on an encore performance of the one-act play 7 p.m. Saturday at the NCT theater. Free-will donations will be accepted.

The show is not for the faint-of-heart. And, with the equivalent content of a R-rated movie, it’s not suitable for young children.

“Lone Star” takes place in the cluttered backyard of a small-town Texas bar. Roy, a brawny, macho type who had once been a local high-school hero, is back in town after a hitch in Vietnam and trying to re-establish his position in the community.

Roy is joined by his younger brother, Ray, who worships him. Roy sets about consuming a case of beer while regaling Ray with tales of his military and amorous exploits.

Early on, it’s very apparent Roy cherishes three things above all: his country, his attractive young wife, and his 1959 pink Thunderbird. Enter Cletis, the fatuous, newlywed son of the local hardware store owner, who has taken it upon himself to bring Roy’s entire world crashing down.

First, Roy learns Ray has had an affair with Roy’s wife during his absence. Then, Roy learns Ray has just demolished his cherished Thunderbird. Somehow, there’s still enough room for some good humor. And, “Lone Star” ends just as breezily and happily as it began.

The cast includes Scott Schaeffer, Lonnie Appleby and John Dougan, and the show was directed by Wanda Blount. Sue Beukema, Tim Blount and Linda Dougan are the technical and backstage crew. NCT will perform 7 p.m. Saturday, April 27, in the American Association of Community Theatres regional competition in Fargo. Minnesota, Nebraska and South Dakota are the other states represented in the competition.