Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Baxter FFA Chapter hosts awards banquet

The Baxter FFA Chapter hosted its annual awards banquet on Tuesday, March 19, at the Baxter High School.

After opening ceremonies by the 2012-2013 officer team, Katie Ziesman led the invocation followed by a catered meal. During dinner, Michael Knight, South Central State FFA vice president, spoke about AGvocating for agriculture in our community.

Twenty-two members were recognized for their participation in sub-district and district competitions earlier in March.

Eight members were awarded Agricultural Proficiency Awards for the work done through their SAE programs. Proficiencies were awarded as follows: Ag Mech Repair and Maintenance, Brad Spearing; Ag Services, Jessica Hiney; Agriscience Research, Blake Young; Beef Production, Entrepreneurship, Mark Deutsch; Beef Production, Placement, Shelby Deaton; Equine Science, McKenna Wigg; Landscape Management, Brevin Johnston; and Swine Production, Tim Thalacker.

The following members earned their Greenhand Degree for one year of membership in the FFA: Lehvi Bucklin, Shelby Deaton, Austin Egger, Maddy Hiney, Brevin Johnston, Joey Snyder, Tristen Wigg, Emily Zahurones and Tucker Ziesman.

Eleven members earned their Chapter Degree: Isaac Bennett, Alex Broderick, Mark Deutsch, Michael Hulbert, Beau Iske, Mac Pohlman, Shania Roush, MacKenzie Schmitz, Clayton Weltha and Katie Ziesman.

Seven members were recognized for earning their Iowa FFA Degree to be awarded at State Convention in Ames this month. Those members are Anne Deutsch, Jordon Hiney, Cole Pohlman, Tim Thalacker, Kylie Van Rywsyk, McKenna Wigg and Jenna Ziesman.

New at the banquet this year was a live auction. Five items were auctioned off by Brian McWhirter and raised close to $600 for the chapter to support events, conferences and scholarships. Items auctioned off included an Iowa Barn Quilt, Iowa State, Barn Quilt, Wine Tree, Tailgate Bench and a labor auction of the new officer team.

Shelby Deaton was recognized as the 2013 Star Greenhand for going above and beyond.

Alex Broderick was award the 2013 Star Chapter Member for her leadership.

Four members were awarded the academic achievement award for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.5 to 4.0 during their years of FFA membership. Those students were: Anne Deutsch, Tim Thalacker, Kylie Van Rywsyk and Jenna Ziesman.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is presented to a member of the community who is helping to advance agricultural education and the FFA. This year’s recipient was Julie McWhirter.

Top Fruit Sales for 2012 were first place, Beau Iske; second place, Kylie Van Rywsyk; and third place, Mac Pohlman.

After a short recognition of the retiring officers, the 2013-2014 officer team was announced. Representing the Baxter FFA Chapter in the coming year will be: Joey Snyder, sentinal; Katie Ziesman and Jessica Hiney, reporters, Shelby Deaton, treasurer; Beau Iske, secretary; McKenna Wigg, vice president; and Mark Deutsch, president.

Loading more