38°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Tournament hosts annual banquet

Published: Monday, March 4, 2013 11:30 a.m. CST • Updated: Monday, March 4, 2013 12:22 p.m. CST
(Dustin Turner/Daily News)
The "Odd Balls of Monroe" take the first place award for the 5-person team in the Jasper County Tournament. It was the first of five awards handed out at the annual banquet on Sunday.
(Dustin Turner/Daily News)
USBC board member Joe Hernandez gives the opening adress at the Jasper County Tournament awards banquet on Saturday.

The Jasper County USBC held their annual banquet for its 2013 tournament on Sunday afternoon. The event was hosted by board member Joe Hernandez. 

Hernandez served as a more than gracious host for the event, which was a gathering of a majority of the participants in this year’s tournament.

“I want to thank everybody, absolutely everybody that helped me throughout the season with the inputting of scores and the gathering of all the information,” Hernandez said. “Before this year, I had only done some of the inputting, and I had no idea how much work went into keeping track of everything. So thank you everyone, so much, for helping me because this would have been a disaster had I tried to do it on my own.”

The banquet was an opportunity of all of the bowlers to gather together and have fun without having to worry about the competitive aspect that their season provided. It was clear that the Jasper County tournament participants were comfortable with one another as they laughed and joked at their tables both during the meal and at the awards presentation. 

The awards started with the presentation of the first place trophy to the winners of the five-person team, handicapped event. In first place, taking home the trophies with a total score of 3,432 were the “Odd Balls of Monroe” from Colfax. They were followed by “Roll With It Baby” with 3,335, and the “Last Minute Shooters” took third place with a total of 3,246.

The award for first place in the four-person team, handicapped event went to “King Pins” from Knoxville with a total score of 2,889. In second place was “Fork’s Tree Service” from Colfax with a score of 2,633, and the “Lane Blazers” took third with a score of 2,561.

The first individual first place trophy went to David L. Anderson from Newton, who bowled a combined 2,165. He was followed closely in second place by Dustin A. Koder (2,141), and in third place was Jason J. Mikkelson with a total of 2,130. Mikkelson also received an award for bowling a terrific game of 299 during the year.

The first place award for team doubles went to Hernandez and his teammate Jon H. Schwartz, they totaled 1,412. Those two were followed by the duo of Mike S. Meyer and Chris L. Farver with 1,404. The third place finishers were the duo of David A Kilne and James A. Hutchinson with a total score of 1,402.

The final award handed out was for the singles event, and that first place trophy went to Troy N. Tabor with a score of 808. In second place was Tammy L. Aalbers with 762. Finally, in third place with a score of 735 was Koder of Colfax.

Sports writer Dustin Turner may be contacted at (641) 792-3121, ext. 440, or at dturner@newtondailynews.com.

More News