Partly Cloudy
38°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Newton, PCM take part in ADM tournament

The Newton and Prairie City-Monroe wrestling teams were among the 15 schools from multiple classes that took part in Adel-DeSoto-Minburn’s Tiger Invitational on Saturday, and both teams walked away with some positive results.

Newton senior Derrick Hurt (285 pounds) and junior Ray Schroder (195) each earned championships at their respective weight classes, while six other Cardinal and Mustang competitors took fourth place or higher at the tournament.

On their way to their titles, both Hurt and Schroder won four matches. Schroder did so with two narrow decisions over opponents from Ames and Atlantic, as well as two pins against opponents from Red Oak and ADM. Schroder pinned ADM’s Darold Baker in the champioship match. Hurt scored three pins and a decision in his path, beating Webster City’s Landon Johnson 6-3 in the championship match.

The Cardinals also had third-place finishers in junior Koby Hull (106), Tanner Hull (120) and fourth-place finishers in sophomore Dakota Dawson (132) and freshman Nicoli Allspach (145). Koby Hull wrestled five matches, recording three pins a 17-2 techical fall against his one loss, which was a 9-6 decision in the semfinals. Tanner Hull also wrestled five matches, scoring three pins and a 13-3 major decision.

After receiving a bye in the first round, Dawson earned two victories with decisions of 11-6 and 6-5, while his two losses were decisions of 2-1 and 7-2. Allpach earned three victories, including two pins and a decision, before falling victim to an 8-2 decision in the third-place match.

Other place winners for the Cardinals were junior Joey Wright (seventh, 182), freshman Bryce Tish (seventh, 126) and junior Jacob Williams (eighth, 220).

For PCM, Tristan Clark (126) and Ron Marshall (170) earned fourth-place finishes to lead the team. Clark earned two pins and a technical fall before losing a narrow 6-3 decision in the third-place match, while Marshall had a bye and two pins in his run.

Other PCM place winners were Luke Cummings (sixth, 160), Lucas Rains (sixth, 195), Skyler Koder (seventh, 138) and Jade Coleman (eighth, 152).

The Cardinals will take on Indianola and Des Moines Roosevelt in Des Moines on Thursday, while the Mustangs will host Martensdale-St. Mary’s and Woodward-Granger on Tuesday.


More News