September 22, 2021

Chance leads three Cardinals on all-LHC baseball teams

Braydon Chance earns second-team all-conference recognition

Newton junior Braydon Chance had a breakout season on the baseball diamond in 2021.

Chance ranked either first or second on the team in seven different offensive categories and his efforts resulted in a second-team all-conference selection in the outfield.

Little Hawkeye Conference honors are based on conference statistics only. Sophomore Turner Williams and junior Kael Swarts were honorable mention selections for the Cardinals.

Chance batted .364 and had an on-base percentage of .431, which both ranked first on the Cardinals. He also finished with team-highs of four doubles, 10 RBIs and two stolen bases. He was second on the team with nine runs scored and tied for second with seven walks.

Chance also was hit by a pitch and had a fielding percentage of .947.

Williams batted .254 and had an OBP of .353. He scored five runs, had two RBIs, drew seven walks and was hit by two pitches. His fielding percentage was .958 and he tallied one pitching save in conference play.

Swarts hit .190 and finished with a .282 OBP. He scored five runs, tallied two doubles and collected six RBIs, six walks and two hit by pitches.

Swarts’ fielding percentage was .831 and his conference pitching record was 1-4.

Little Hawkeye Conference


Final Standings

Team                    Conference         Overall

Norwalk   18-3    28-6

Grinnell 15-5   27-5

Dallas Center-Grimes 13-7    17-14

Indianola 13-7    28-10

Pella  11-10    20-16

Pella Christian   5-15    10-21

Newton  4-17  9-20

Oskaloosa  2-17    7-21

First Team

Pitchers — Evan Borst, sr., Norwalk; Vinnie Mauro, jr., Norwalk.

Catcher — Nick DeJong, sr., Pella.

Infielders — *Brady Blake, so., Indianola; *Clayton Campidilli, so., DCG; Colin Gibson, jr., Grinnell; Casey Greenlee, sr., Norwalk.

Outfielders — Carter Erickson, jr., Indianola; Kael Kolarik, jr., Indianola; Brock Miller, sr., Norwalk.

Utility — Isaiah Seck, so., Grinnell; Jason Knox, jr., Pella; Caleb Dicken, sr., DCG.

Second Team

Pitchers — Mason Wittmer, sr., Pella; Trevor Hamil, so., DCG.

Catcher — Cole Johnson, jr., Grinnell.

Infielders — Alex Smith, jr., Grinnell; Jack Strong, fr., Indianola; Ryan Mace, sr., Pella; Bennett Spronk, jr., Pella Christian.

Outfielders — Braydon Chance, jr., Newton; Jordan Sedivec, sr., DCG; Casey Garton, sr., DCG.

Utility — Landon Briggs, jr., Oskaloosa; Conner Howard, sr., Indianola; Caden Grimes, sr., DCG.

Honorable Mention

Kael Swarts, jr., Newton. Turner Williams, so., Newton. Nate Waknitz, jr., DCG. Huston Halverson, jr., DCG. Jarrett Cerwinksi, jr., Oskaloosa. Kamden Criss, so., Oskaloosa. Cael Eck, sr., Norwalk. Tyler Wegner, sr., Norwalk. Josh Miller, sr., Pella. Tate Weesner, so., Pella. Mark Pepper, sr., Indianola. Casey Stecker, jr., Indianola. Owen Coffman, sr., Grinnell. Brady Steward, jr., Grinnell. Kyle Branderhorst, sr., Pella Christian. Micah DeHaan, jr., Pella Christian.