December 09, 2021

Prairie City, Monroe city and school board election results

Monroe Mayor Doug Duinink has retained his seat in the one contested race for both Monroe and Prairie City in the 2021 election. The PCM Revenue Purpose Statement also passed after receiving more than 87 percent approval.

According to unofficial results from the Jasper County Auditor’s Office, Duinink received 344 of the 425 votes cast while challenger Gale Perrin brought in 77 votes. Four write-in votes were also cast in the mayoral race. All three incumbents for Monroe City Council – Jennifer St. Peter, Andrea Steenhoek and Jean Goemaat – were re-elected, receiving 320, 300 and 296 votes, respectively. There was also 100 write-in votes for city council, for a total of 1,016 votes.

In Prairie City, Eric Imerman was elected mayor, taking over for Chad Alleger, who will now serve on city council. Along with Alleger, Dianne Taylor was re-elected to council and Emily Simmons will join as a new council member.

Scott Grass, Ryan Van Der Kamp and new to the board, Lori Lungling were elected to the PCM School Board.

Reasnor sees Dale James the victor in the uncontested mayoral race. Marcy Simbro-Woodhouse, Rebecca L. Soderblom and Richard McClelland were all also elected to the city council.

Contact Jamee A. Pierson at 641-792-3121 ext. 6534 or