December 04, 2023

2023 city and school board election results

Familiar names fill seats for cities and school boards

Unofficial election results recorded by the Jasper County Auditor’s Office are in for the 2023 city and school board elections. A mix of incumbents and new representatives will fill the seats in Baxter, Colfax and Mingo.

For Baxter School Board, Tyler Adkins, Ashley Kucera and Ray Hauser received the top vote totals at 299, 286 and 236 respectively taking the available seats. Candidates Christina Roby and incumbent Kim Tichy brought in 150 and 141 each.

At Colfax-Mingo, the At-Large four-year term seats will be filled by incumbent Shannon Herbold Boehm with 474 votes and incumbent Dawn Gibson with 269 votes. Additional candidates for the seats James Tomlonovic, Cody Dyer and Melissa Cooper had 206, 191 and 159 votes each.

Incumbent Patrick Utz will continue on the board in the At-Large two-year term seat along with fellow incumbent Mary Poulter in District 3.

In District 1, incumbent Kendra Perry retained her seat with 480 votes over Betty Brant at 237 votes. Ashley Vanderschoor will now fill the District 2 position receiving 454. Incumbent Mardell Tomlonovic garnered 190 votes and Jennifer Everett got 105 votes.

For the City of Baxter, Jasper County Treasurer Doug Bishop will add the title of Baxter Mayor having run unopposed. On city council, Jamie Milligan and Stephen C. Smith came out on top with 197 and 184 votes each. Incumbent Tootie Samson had just two fewer votes than Smith at 182.

Incumbent David Mast will continue to serve as Colfax Mayor after receiving 69.16 percent of the vote. Mayoral candidate Howard E. Williams brought in 30.39 percent.

Colfax City Council incumbent Curtis Small will keep his At-Large seat after running unopposed along with incumbent Bryan Poulter for Ward 1. Incumbent Wes Snyder garnered more votes with 99 for Ward 3 while Danny Neal Haney Jr. brought in 44 votes.

In Mingo, 43 write-in votes were counted for mayor although no name was listed at this time by the auditor’s office. For Mingo City Council, Cory Bode and Kristen Crozier will each serve in the two available seats.