June 20, 2021

Baxter High School registers 50% of eligible students to vote

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate announces 22 schools qualified for the 2021 Carrie Chapman Catt Award. The award goes to schools that register at least 90 percent of their eligible students to vote. The Carrie Chapman Catt Award is named after the famous Iowan who successfully fought for passage of the 19th Amendment, granting women the ability to vote throughout the U.S.

Secretary Pate created the award to encourage voter registration in high schools. 18 schools qualified in 2020.

“Despite the challenges created by the COVID pandemic, we increased the number of schools that hit the 90 percent threshold this year. It took a lot of work and dedication by principals, teachers, and most importantly, the students. I’m proud of all of the schools that stepped up this year and helped students register to vote,” Secretary Pate said.

Nine more schools, including Baxter High School, registered at least 50 percent of eligible students and will receive a personalized certificate from the Iowa Secretary of State’s Office.