Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Newton boys, L-S girls lead area harriers at Grinnell

Treycen Garton
Treycen Garton

GRINNELL — Newton, Lynnville-Sully and Prairie City-Monroe competed in the Grinnell Invitational on Tuesday evening.

And the Cardinal boys’ cross country team and Lynnville-Sully’s girls led the way among the area trio of schools.

Newton’s boys finished seventh as a team and sophomore Jackson Mace-Maynard finished 10th overall for the Cardinals.

The L-S girls were 10th as a team. Newton junior Ashay Malow was the top area girl finisher in 16th.

The top 15 finishers in the varsity races earned medals.

“Almost all of the boys improved on this flat course,” Newton boys coach Steve Weeks said. “The team is so young that they’re learning so much as we go along.”

Mace-Maynard was the only area runner to earn a medal. His 10th-place finish produced a time of 17 minutes, 58 seconds.

There were 104 runners in the boys’ varsity race. Four other area athletes finished in the top 50. Newton sophomore Treycen Garton was 31st in 18:48.1 and Newton senior Luke Zaabel came in 35th in 18:57.1

Lynnville-Sully freshman James Gruver placed 42nd with a time of 19:07.6 and PCM junior Beau Webb was 45th in 19:15.

Malow missed a medal by one spot. Her 5K time was 21:18.6.

“This was a competitive field and Ashay responded well, seeing a big time drop on the season,” Newton girls head coach Rachelle Tipton said.

There were 94 runners in the girls’ varsity race. The other top-50 finishers were Lynnville-Sully freshman Greenlee Smock in 25th, PCM freshman Paige Steenhoek in 27th, PCM senior Klaire Jungling in 41st, Lynnville-Sully junior Caitlin Alberts in 42nd, PCM freshman Riley DeVore in 44th and Newton sophomore Kelsey Church in 49th.

Smock’s time was 21:56.1, while Steenhoek finished in 22:04.4. Jungling (23:44.8), Alberts (23:45) and DeVore (23:51) all came in under 24 minutes. Church finished her race in 24:07.5.

“Our high school teams had a relatively short turn around between meets following a race on Saturday morning,” L-S coach Darin Arkema said. “Factor that along with warm temperatures and humidity, and it would have been easy for efforts and performances to have a significant drop off from our first two races.

“That wasn’t the case at all as the athletes took care of themselves and gave their best efforts tonight.”

The fields were stacked on both sides. Seven ranked teams and around 20 ranked runners paced through the 5K course at Ahrens Recreation Complex.

Class 3A No. 1 Carlisle won the boys’ team title with 30 points. Pella, which is ranked seventh in 3A, was next with 72 points and 2A No. 9 Williamsburg finished third with 98 points.

There were 14 boys’ teams in all. Grinnell (125) and Ottumwa (153) rounded out the top five.

Newton scored 185 points in seventh, PCM finished 12th with 338 points and Lynnville-Sully came in 14th with 383 points.

“We just had two new runners join the team this week and we’re up to 20, which is the largest squad in the past five years,” Weeks said. “Now we need to train and get ready for the hill-filled courses that are up next.”

Class 3A No. 23 Kolby Fritz of Carlisle won the boys’ race in 17:06.2. Cedar Rapids Xavier’s Jack Renning, ranked 19th in 3A, was second in 17:17.7.

On the girls’ side, 3A No. 3 Dallas Center-Grimes won the team title with 55 points. Ottumwa, which is ranked 11th in 4A, was second with 92 and 2A No. 2 Williamsburg was one back with 93.

The girls’ field also included 14 teams. Class 3A No. 12 Grinnell (111) was fourth and Pella (157) finished fifth.

Lynnville-Sully ended up 10th with 247 points, Newton was 11th with 258 and PCM took 12th with 262.

“Overall, it was a good night for the girls with tough competition,” Tipton said. “There were girls who ran similar times to last week, or faster, despite the heat. Hydration is going to be key this next week of practice.”

Class 3A No. 2 Ainsley Erzen of Carlisle won the girls’ race in 18:57. Ottumwa’s Alli Bookin-Nosbisch, who is ranked ninth in 4A, was second in 19:09.8

The Newton boys were led by Mace-Maynard, Garton and Zaabel. The other two scoring runners were sophomore Brennan Amos (19:39.9) in 51st and sophomore Hunter Kennedy (20:15.1) in 64th.

The non-scoring runners for the Cardinals were senior Chayton Lambertus-Hamm (20:19.7) in 66th and freshman Jared Smith (20:56.6) in 75th.

After Webb for PCM was senior Jason Stafford (21:10.1) in 61st. Senior Cooper Vandelune (21:08.9) finished 77th, senior Ayrton Breckenridge (21:17.1) took 82nd and senior Cody Courtney (21:42.8) placed 89th.

The non-scoring runners for the Mustangs were sophomore Kyle Sanders (22:45.7) in 94th and junior Garin Padget (23:01.1) in 96th.

Lynnville-Sully had five total runners. After Gruver was junior Mason Jansen (21:14.6) in 80th. Freshman Zach Morningstar (21:41.7) finished 88th, freshman Gentry Walston (22:14.9) was 90th and freshman Evan Fikse (27:17.9) came in 104th.

The L-S girls trailed conference foe Montezuma by 21 points in the team race. After Smock and Alberts was junior Megan Van Zante (24:39.3) in 51st. The final two scoring runners were senior Brittney Hansen (25:08.1) in 63rd and freshman Kendra Fikse (26:20) in 73rd. Freshman Kinsley Tice (26:46.8) finished 77th.

After Malow and Church for Newton were freshman Kate Muckler (25:12.7) in 64th, senior Tes Schuster (25:40.2) in 67th and sophomore Morgan Stalzer (25:59.2) in 69th. The non-scoring runners were senior Jenna Smith (26:45.4) in 75th and junior Willow Oswalt (27:36.4) in 87th.

Finishing after PCM’s trio of Steenhoek, Jungling and DeVore were junior Margo Chipps (25:42) in 68th and freshman Jillian Fairbanks (28:40.5) in 90th. The two non-scoring runners were sophomore Taryn Steenhoek (28:52.1) in 91st and senior Hannah McCarthy (30:18) in 94th.

JV Results


PCM (9th out of 10 teams): 50. Teagan Glover, 28:17.1; 55. Delaney Baird, 28:46.2; 59. Emma Hiebert, 29:40.7; 81. Jocelyn Brandt, 32:57.1; 84. Allana Klein, 33:06.3; 90. Hanna Townley, 34:32.3; 101. Rylee Gallaher, 39:38.1.

Newton (10th out of 10 teams): 57. Lexi Pollock, 29:12.1; 71. Kathia Rosario, 30:46.9; 94. Aryssa Hinderberger, 36:17.2; 95. Abigail Adkison, 36:30; 97. Sydni Followill, 36:41.3; 98. Heather Perry, 36:42; 100. Jill Waits, 39:00.2; 102. Emma Ham, 39:39.7.


Newton (7th out of 11 teams): 17. Derek Beiner, 20:07.1; 29. Collin Buchli, 20:44.6; 35. Anthony Bestell, 21:02.2; 50. Zach Ort, 21:53; 81. Ryan Nook, 23:43.8; 85. Leo Friedman, 24:09.6; Jarret Waits, 25:54.7.

PCM (10th out of 11 teams): 53. Dalton Moser, 22:02.7; 99. Dylan Masterson, 26:07.8; 104. Ty True, 26:45.5; 116. Nathan Vanderpool, 28:55.6; 117. Alex Courtney, 29:16.8; 128. Carson Porter, 35:48.3.

Loading more