Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Four area players receive IBCA all-substate honors


Four area boys’ basketball players received more postseason honors as the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association announced its 2017 All-Substate basketball teams.

All four have something else in common — they led their team in scoring, rebounding and several other categories during the 2016-17 season.

Newton senior Connor Gholson was named to the IBCA Class 4A All-Substate 7 team as a forward.

Earning spots on the IBCA Class 1A All-Substate 6 team were juniors Jesse Van Wyk and Brevin Hansen of Lynnville-Sully and junior Jarod Nichols of Colfax-Mingo. Van Wyk and Nichols were forwards on the elite team and Hansen was named as point guard.

Gholson was Newton’s leading scorer with 513 points for season and became Newton’s all-time career scorer with 1,395 points. Gholson scored 43 points in the Cardinals’ three victories in claiming the 4A Substate 7 championship and earning a 4A state tournament berth.

Gholson was the team’s leader in 3-point shooting, hitting 79-of-204 attempts for 38.7 percent. Gholson’s 79 3-pointers was tops in Class 4A. He shot 43 percent, 171-of-400, from the field overall.

Gholson was second on the team in free throw shooting at 83 percent, 92-of-111. He grabbed 127 rebounds, which was second for the team, and he was third in steals with 21.

Newton went 19-6, the best record by a Cardinal team since the 23-3 state championship of 1964. The Newton boys hadn’t been to a state basketball team in 25 years.

Van Wyk and Hansen were Lynnville-Sully’s No. 1 and No. 2 scorers this season. They led the Hawks to the 1A Substate 6 championship and a trip to the 1A state tournament. Lynnville-Sully went 24-2 this season and finished ranked fifth in Class 1A.

Van Wyk scored 325 points for Lynnville-Sully this season. He was the Hawks’ leader in rebounds, 174, assists, 98, steals, 55, and blocked shots, 27. He had 54 points in the team’s four playoff games, 27 rebounds, 14 assists and eight blocked shots.

Hansen was Lynnville-Sully’s top 3-point field goal shooter, 44-of-122 for 36 percent. He scored 296 points and led the team from the free-throw line, 32-of-42. He had 82 assists and 54 steals. Hansen had 44 points and 13 assists in playoff play.

Nichols recorded 15 double-doubles in 19 games played for Colfax-Mingo. Nichols was the top scorer, 335 points, and top rebounder, 251 rebounds, for the Tigerhawks in a 10-13 season. Nichols scored 31 points and pulled down 23 rebounds in the two playoff games the team played.

The IBCA selects a player of the year for each class and a overall player — Mr. Basketball — of the year. The 2017 IBCA Mr. Basketball is Class 1A’s Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior guard Joe Smoldt.

The individual class players of the year are : 4A — Iowa City West senior forward Connor McCaffery; 3A — Waverly-Shell Rock senior post player Austin Phyfe; 2A — Pella Christian senior guard Levi Jungling; 1A — North Linn sophomore guard Jake Hilmer.

Contact Jocelyn Sheets at
641-792-3121 ext. 6535

Loading more